Paris-Roubaix 2021 men’s start list

Here are the riders competing in the delayed cobbled Monument

Wout van Aert at the 2019 Paris-Roubaix
(Image credit: Getty )

The delayed Paris-Roubaix 2021 is finally here, as the peloton prepares to take on the brutal cobbles of northern France - here is the start list for this year’s men’s race. 

After last year’s Paris-Roubaix was cancelled due to the Coronavirus pandemic, race organiser ASO had hoped to hold the race in its usual April slot in 2021, but due to lockdown restrictions in France the event had to be delayed. 

Now taking place on October 3, the men’s edition of the ‘The Hell of the North’, the men will be racing 257km from Compiégne to the iconic velodrome in Roubaix, 

This year also marks the first ever women’s Paris-Roubaix, a long awaited and historic moment for the sport. 

In the men’s competition, some of the biggest stars in the world are expected to race, with plenty of former winners on the start list. 

Superstar rider Peter Sagan is expected to race on the cobbles of northern France for Bora-Hansgrohe, while former winners John Degenkolb and Philippe Gilbert are both expected to race in Lotto-Soudal colours. 

Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) may make an appearance, if he isn’t hindered by his ongoing back problems, while Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) is the stand-out favourite to take the victory in Roubaix after his remarkable form in recent weeks. 

Here is the provisional start list for the men’s Paris-Roubaix 2021: 

Paris-Roubaix 2021 start list 


Peter Sagan (Slo)
Daniel Oss (Ita)
Maciej Bodnar (Pol)
Marcus Burghardt (Ger)


Mathieu van der Poel (Ned)
Tim Merlier (Bel)
Silvan Dillier (Sui)
Jonas Rickaert (Bel) 

UAE Team Emirates

Matteo Trentin (Ita)
Alexander Kristoff (Nor)


Edward Teuns (Bel)
Mads Pedersen (Den)
Jasper Stuyven (Bel)
Quinn Simmons (USA 

EF Education-Nippo

Michael Valgren (Den)
Sebastian Langeveld (Ned)
Jens Keukeleire (Bel) 

Team BikeExchange

Luke Durbridge (Aus)

Israel Start-Up Nation

André Greipel (Ger)
Sep Vanmarcke (Bel)
Hugo Hofstetter (Fra)
Jenthe Biermans (Bel) 


Victor Campenaerts (Bel)
Max Walscheid (Ger)
Dimitri Claeys (Bel) 


Stefan Küng (Sui)
Arnaud Démare (Fra) 


Phil Bauhaus (Ger)
Marco Haller (Aut)
Heinrich Haussler (Aus) 


Imanol Erviti (Esp)
Ivan García (Esp) 

Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux


Christophe Laporte (Fra)
Jelle Wallays (Bel) 


John Degenkolb (Ger)
Philippe Gilbert (Bel) 

Astana-Premier Tech 

Hugo Houle (Can) 


Greg Van Avermaet (Bel)
Oliver Naesen (Bel) 

Deceuninck - Quick-Step 

Yves Lampaert (Bel)
Zdenek Stybar (Cze)
Florian Sénéchal (Fra)
Kasper Asgreen (Den)
Iljo Keisse (Bel) 

Ineos Grenadiers 

Gianni Moscon (Ita)
Michał Kwiatkowski (Pol) 

Team DSM

Jasha Sütterlin (Ger)
Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) 


Wout van Aert (Bel)
Mike Teunissen (Ned) 



Niki Terpstra (Ned)
Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) 

B&B Hotels p/b KTM 

Jens Debusschere (Bel) 

Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB


Alex Ballinger
Alex Ballinger

Alex is the digital news editor for After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter and now as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output.

Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) and joining CW in 2018, Alex has covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers. 

Away from journalism, Alex is a national level time triallist, avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.