Record-breaker Tadej Pogačar wins Tour of California after Cees Bol takes stage seven

Slovenian Tadej Pogačar successfully defends his yellow jersey as Cees Bol wins the seventh and final 2019 Tour of California stage

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Tadej Pogačar (UAE-Team Emirates) became the youngest ever winner of a WorldTour stage race as he defended the yellow jersey on the seventh and final day of the Tour of California.

The 20-year-old Slovenian finished safely in the peloton as Cees Bol (Team Sunweb) was the fastest in the bunch sprint in Pasadena. Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Jasper Philipsen (UAE-Team Emirates) finished second and third respectively.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Chris Marshall-Bell

A freelance sports journalist and podcaster, you'll mostly find Chris's byline attached to news scoops, profile interviews and long reads across a variety of different publications. He has been writing regularly for Cycling Weekly since 2013. In 2024 he released a seven-part podcast documentary, Ghost in the Machine, about motor doping in cycling.

Previously a ski, hiking and cycling guide in the Canadian Rockies and Spanish Pyrenees, he almost certainly holds the record for the most number of interviews conducted from snowy mountains. He lives in Valencia, Spain.