Tour de France 2012 teams presented in Liege

All 22 teams taking part in the 2012 Tour de France took to the stage in Liege, Belgium, on Thursday night to be officially presented ahead of the race’s start on Saturday.

As is traditional, the riders from each team took to the stage on their bikes and then key figures were interviewed in front of a huge crowd of on-lookers.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Defending champion Cadel Evans, local favourite Philippe Gilbert, and Brits Mark Cavendish and Bradley Wiggins all appeared popular with the spectators.

David Millar was absent from proceedings after suffering from a bout of sickness. The move was a precautionary measure and he is expected to start the race in good shape.

The 2012 Tour starts on Saturday (June 30), with a 6.4-kilometre prologue time trial around Liege.

Crowds gather in Liege

Recording the action

Bradley Wiggins rides on to the stage

Team Sky

Bradley Wiggins shares a joke

Mark Cavendish is introduced

Garmin-Sharp-Barracuda in new team kit

Defending champion Cadel Evans

BMC Racing Team


Fabian Cancellara

Marcel Kittel and Argos-Shimano

Omega Pharma-QuickStep

Peter Sagan and Liquigas-Cannondale

Thomas Voeckler

Alejandro Velverde

Frank Schleck waves, RadioShack-Nissan

Oscar Freire


Related links
Tour de France 2012 team presentation, full gallery
Millar misses Tour team presentation due to illness
Team Sky Tour de France recon photo special
Tour de France 2012: Coverage index