Keep up to date with who has withdrawn from this year's Tour de France

With three weeks of racing and thousands of kilometres to cover, sporting events don’t come tougher than the Tour de France.

Last year’s race saw major withdrawals early on due to a wet opening time trial in Düsseldorf, with Alejandro Valverde and Ion Izagirre both crashing out on the first day, before Peter Sagan became the race’s most high-profile non-finisher after he was abandoned on stage four.

As usual, the first two stages of the 2018 Tour de France saw numerous crashes, with the final 20km of stage one seeing time losses for many of the GC contenders, while Lawson Craddock (EF Education First-Drapac) suffered the most serious crash which saw him suffer a minor fractured vertebrae and require stitches above his left eye.

However the first rider abandon of the race was not due to a crash, with Tsgabu Grmay (Trek-Segafredo) climbing off with 95km to go on stage two with his team saying that he was suffering from “severe abdominal pain”.

Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana) was the other man who abandoned following a crash with slightly under 40km remaining on the stage to La Roche-sur-Yon.

After all riders made it through the team time trial on stage three, stage four saw a major crash with five kilometres to go in which a number of riders hit the deck, including Axel Domont (Ag2r La Mondiale) who immediately abandoned with a broken collarbone.

Tiesj Benoot (Lotto-Soudal) was also caught up in that crash but continued to ride to the finish with blood pouring down his face. However the Belgian did not take to the start of stage five having dislocated his shoulder and requiring stitches to cuts above his right eye and the back of his head.

Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) was also a non-starter on stage five. The Australian rider had looked strong in the opening stages, but suffered from vomiting overnight and was unable to eat before the stage, deciding to pull out rather than attempting to race.

On the stage itself there was one abandon, with Robert Kiserlovski crashing in the opening kilometres and having to pull out of the race with a broken collarbone.

After that flurry of abandonments, there were no riders who pulled out of the race as the peloton made its way across France towards stage nine, where the cobbled stage produced even more carnage than we were expecting.

However, quite surprisingly, none of the abandonments from stage nine were as a result of the cobbles.

The first man to pull out was Tony Martin (Kastusha-Alpecin), who crashed on stage eight but rode to the finish, only to be diagnosed with a fractured vertebrae that meant he didn’t line up to start stage nine in Arras.

And despite the crashes later in the stage, it was actually on the tarmac after just 10km the claimed the other two casualties on the stage itself.

Richie Porte (BMC Racing) saw his Tour de France end through a crash for the second year running as he suffered a broken collarbone in the multi-ride pile-up, while José Joaquin Rojas (Movistar) was brought down in the same incident, abandoning the race but not suffering any fractures.

However despite no one abandoning on the cobbles themselves, as two riders pulled out of the race on the rest day that followed and did not line up for the start of stage 10.

Alexis Vuillermoz (Ag2r La Mondiale) was a loyal domestique for Romain Bardet on the cobbles, but abandoned on the rest day after being diagnosed with a broken shoulder blade after a crash.

Jens Keukeleire (Lotto-Soudal) was the other man to pull of the race ahead of stage 10, being able to finish the final day of the first week on the cobbles despite later being diagnosed with a fractured fibula.

Stage 11, the second mountain stage, saw all 165 riders in the race reach the finish, but Mark Cavendish and Mark Renshaw (Dimension Data), and Marcel Kittel (Katusha-Alpecin) were all eliminated from the race after missing the time cut.

However there was a stay of execution for Rick Zabel (Katusha-Alpecin) who the race jury took mercy on and decided to allow to continue in the race after he missed the time cut by just four seconds.

The final mountain day in the Alps saw another general classification contender pull out, as 2017 runner-up Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First-Drapac) decided not to take to the start as he continued to suffer from injuries sustained in a crash on the Roubaix stage.

The climb-heavy stage 12 – which saw riders crest the Col de la Madeleine, Col de la Croix de Fer, as well as the Lacets de Montvernier before the Alpe d’Huez – resulted in the abandonment of many of the race’s sprinters, including André Greipel (Lotto-Soudal), Fernando Gaviria (Quick Step Floors) and Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo).

Domestiqes such Marcel Sieberg (Lotto- Soudal), Paweł Poljański (Bora-Hansgrohe), Rick Zabel (Katusha-Alpecin), and Tony Galloping (Ag2r La Mondiale) also abandoned mid-stage, while Dmitry Gruzdev (Astana) and Rein Taaramäe (Direct Energie) were eliminated after missing the time cut.

Stage 12 also claimed a general classification victim, with Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) crashing in the crowds on Alpe d’Huez. The Italian got up and finished the stage, but abandoned overnight after he was diagnosed with a broken vertebra.

That leaves 151 riders still in the race, with nine stages remaining until the race reaches Paris on July 29.

Stage 13 abandonments

Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) – Crash (DNS)

Stage 12 abandonments

Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First-Drapac) – Crash (DNS)
André Greipel (Lotto-Soudal) – Abandon
Fernando Gaviria (Quick Step Floors) – Abandon
Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo) – Abandon
Marcel Sieberg (Lotto-Soudal) – Abandon
Paweł Poljański (Bora-Hansgrohe) – Abandon
Rick Zabel (Katusha-Alpecin) – Abandon
Tony Gallopin (Ag2r La Mondiale) – Abandon
Dmitry Gruzdev (Astana) – Missed time cut
Rein Taaramäe (Direct Energie) – Missed time cut

Stage 11 abandonments

Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data) – Missed time cut
Mark Renshaw (Dimension Data) – Missed time cut
Marcel Kittel (Katusha-Alpecin) – Missed time cut

Stage 10 abandonments

Jens Keukeleire (Lotto-Soudal) – Crash (DNS)
Alexis Vuillermoz (Ag2r La Mondiale) – Crash (DNS)

Stage nine abandonments

Tony Martin (Katusha-Alpecin) – Crash (DNS)
Richie Porte (BMC Racing) – Crash
José Joaquin Rojas (Movistar) – Crash

Stage eight abandonments


Stage seven abandonments


Stage six abandonments


Stage five abandonments

Tiesj Benoot (Lotto-Soudal) – Crash (DNS)
Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) – Illness (DNS)
Robert Kiserlovski (Katusha-Alpecin) – Crash

Stage four abandonments

Axel Domont (Ag2r La Mondiale) – Crash

Stage three abandonments


Stage two abandonments

Tsgabu Grmay (Trek-Segafredo) – Illness
Luis Leon Sanchez (Astana) – Crash

Stage one abandonments


This page will be updated as the race progresses