Rémi Cavagna wins Tour of Poland stage six time trial as João Almeida strengthens overall lead

A good day for Deceuninck - Quick-Step, with time trial wins and leader's jerseys aplenty across two different races

Remi Cavagna
(Image credit: Getty)

A good day for Deceuninck - Quick-Step in the time trial discipline. First, Remco Evenepoel won the race against the clock in the final stage of the Tour of Denmark, securing the overall victory, before Rémi Cavagna won the penultimate stage six of the Tour of Poland and João Almeida secured his overall lead before tomorrow's flat, final day.

Cavagna finished the 19.1km-long course 13 seconds faster than his team-mate Almeida, with Bora-Hansgrohe's Maciej Bodnar taking third, a further three seconds back.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.