Tadej Pogačar moves into Tour de France lead with commanding stage six victory

The reigning champion timed his sprint perfectly on the undulating course to win his first stage of this year's Tour de France

Tadej Pogačar Tour de France
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) powered to victory on stage six of the Tour de France, perfectly executing his sprint in the final 400 metres to cross the finish line first, and consequently move into the yellow jersey, too. 

Pogačar's UAE teammates Rafał Majka and Brandon McNulty led him up the final climb of this year's longest Tour stage, before the Slovenian launched his sprint at the front of the pack. Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) initially overtook him, but in the end the reigning champion had too much strength and speed towards the line. 

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Staff Writer

Ryan is a staff writer for Cycling Weekly, having joined the team in September 2021. He first joined Future in December 2020, working across FourFourTwo, Golf Monthly, Rugby World and Advnture's websites, before making his way to cycling. After graduating from Cardiff University with a degree in Journalism and Communications, Ryan earned a NCTJ qualification to further develop as a writer.