Tokyo 2020 Olympics time trial women's start list

The confirmed start order for the 22.1km time trial around the Fuji International Speedway

Anna van der Breggen winning bronze at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games
(Image credit: Getty Images)

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games individual time trial will see some of the world's best riders against the clock on July 28.

Of course, much like many other events in 2020, the Olympics had to be postponed and pushed back to the summer of 2021, which of the events in the Games taking place from late July to early August.

The road cycling events are always one of the first to take place, and the women's time trial will take place mid-way through the first week.

>>> Olympic Games cycling schedule: when to watch the racing at Tokyo 2020

In this year's Games, the women will face a hilly 22.1km route around the base of Mount Fuji with a start and finish on the race track of the Fuji International Speedway. This is a lap less than the men will take on.

The three main favourites are fairly clear with a slight possibility of a shock result. The race is expected to be a battle between Chloe Dygert from the USA and the two Dutch stars Anna van der Breggen, who took bronze at Rio 2016, and Annemiek van Vleuten. 

Both Van der Breggen and Van Vleuten have gone on to dominate to sport, winning almost everything there is to win, though a time trial gold medal would be a dream addition. A second gold medal for Van der Breggen, having won the road race in 2016, would be a crowning glory as the world champion is set to retire at the end of the season.

The Great Britain team has just one rider in the race, so is fielding 20-year-old Anna Shackley. The SD Worx rider has impressed as a rider and will be hoping for a good result.

Marlen Reusser (Switzerland), Elisa Longo-Borghini (Italy) and Lisa Brennauer (Germany), among others, are also worth looking out for as potential medal threats.

The maximum a nation could field at the event is two, with the Netherlands, Australia, Canada, Germany, and the USA all allowed that number. The rest can only field one rider.


11:30:00 / 03:30:00 25 ALI ZADA Masomah EOR
11:31:30 / 03:31:30 24 van de VELDE Julie BEL
11:33:00 / 03:33:00 23 SHACKLEY Anna GBR
11:34:30 / 03:34:30 22 CANUEL Karol-Ann CAN
11:36:00 / 03:36:00 21 YONAMINE Eri JPN
11:37:30 / 03:37:30 20 GIGANTE Sarah AUS
11:39:00 / 03:39:00 19 SHAPIRA Omer ISR
11:40:30 / 03:40:30 18 AALERUD Katrine NOR
11:42:00 / 03:42:00 17 MAJERUS Christine LUX
11:43:30 / 03:43:30 16 GARCIA CANELLAS Margarita Victo ESP
11:45:00 / 03:45:00 15 KIRCHMANN Leah CAN
11:46:30 / 03:46:30 14 KLEIN Lisa GER
11:48:00 / 03:48:00 13 LABOUS Juliette FRA
11:49:30 / 03:49:30 12 AMIALIUSIK Alena BLR
11:51:00 / 03:51:00 11 PLICHTA Anna POL
11:52:30 / 03:52:30 10 MOOLMAN-PASIO Ashleigh RSA
11:54:00 / 03:54:00 9 LONGO BORGHINI Elisa ITA
11:55:30 / 03:55:30 8 JOERGENSEN Emma Cecilie DEN
11:57:00 / 03:57:00 7 NEBEN Amber USA
11:58:30 / 03:58:30 6 van VLEUTEN Annemiek NED
12:00:00 / 04:00:00 5 BROWN Grace AUS
12:01:30 / 04:01:30 4 BRENNAUER Lisa GER
12:03:00 / 04:03:00 3 REUSSER Marlen SUI
12:04:30 / 04:04:30 2 DYGERT Chloe USA
12:06:00 / 04:06:00 1 van der BREGGEN Anna NED

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Tim Bonville-Ginn

Hi, I'm one of Cycling Weekly's content writers for the web team responsible for writing stories on racing, tech, updating evergreen pages as well as the weekly email newsletter. Proud Yorkshireman from the UK's answer to Flanders, Calderdale, go check out the cobbled climbs!

I started watching cycling back in 2010, before all the hype around London 2012 and Bradley Wiggins at the Tour de France. In fact, it was Alberto Contador and Andy Schleck's battle in the fog up the Tourmalet on stage 17 of the Tour de France.

It took me a few more years to get into the journalism side of things, but I had a good idea I wanted to get into cycling journalism by the end of year nine at school and started doing voluntary work soon after. This got me a chance to go to the London Six Days, Tour de Yorkshire and the Tour of Britain to name a few before eventually joining Eurosport's online team while I was at uni, where I studied journalism. Eurosport gave me the opportunity to work at the world championships in Harrogate back in the awful weather.

After various bar jobs, I managed to get my way into Cycling Weekly in late February of 2020 where I mostly write about racing and everything around that as it's what I specialise in but don't be surprised to see my name on other news stories.

When not writing stories for the site, I don't really switch off my cycling side as I watch every race that is televised as well as being a rider myself and a regular user of the game Pro Cycling Manager. Maybe too regular.

My bike is a well used Specialized Tarmac SL4 when out on my local roads back in West Yorkshire as well as in northern Hampshire with the hills and mountains being my preferred terrain.