Ben O'Connor conquers La Molina to win stage three of the Volta a Catalunya

AG2R's Australian times his attack perfectly to take mountainous stage and race lead

Ben O'Connor
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Ben O'Connor soloed to victory on La Molina to take stage three of the Volta a Catalunya, just about holding off the chasing pack in the final metres.

The AG2R Citröen rider took the race lead after his effort, the sixth win of his career, and backed up his mountain-top finish in the Tour de France last year. The win means all three stages at the Volta so far have been won by Australians.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Adam Becket
News editor

Adam is Cycling Weekly’s news editor – his greatest love is road racing but as long as he is cycling on tarmac, he's happy. Before joining Cycling Weekly he spent two years writing for Procycling, where he interviewed riders and wrote about racing. He's usually out and about on the roads of Bristol and its surrounds. Before cycling took over his professional life, he covered ecclesiastical matters at the world’s largest Anglican newspaper and politics at Business Insider. Don't ask how that is related to cycling.