Magnus Sheffield wins Brabantse Pijl as Ineos Grenadiers ride the perfect race

19-year old American takes second professional win of career

Magnus Sheffield
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Magnus Sheffield soloed to victory at Brabantse Pijl on Wednesday, capitalising on Ineos Grenadiers' overwhelming numbers in the decisive move.

The 19-year old American attacked with just under 4km to go and powered to victory, with Benoît Cosnefroy (AG2R Citroën) finishing second for a consecutive one-day race, with Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) in third initially, but was then relegated for his sprint, meaning Warren Barguil (Arkéa Samsic) completed the podium.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Adam Becket
News editor

Adam is Cycling Weekly’s news editor – his greatest love is road racing but as long as he is cycling on tarmac, he's happy. Before joining Cycling Weekly he spent two years writing for Procycling, where he interviewed riders and wrote about racing. He's usually out and about on the roads of Bristol and its surrounds. Before cycling took over his professional life, he covered ecclesiastical matters at the world’s largest Anglican newspaper and politics at Business Insider. Don't ask how that is related to cycling.