Giro Rosa

Dates: July 5-14, 2019
Cassano Spinola

Finish: San Vito al Tagliamento-Udine

Coverage (UK): RAI will be the official partner with commentry by Stefano Rizzato, daily highlights will be made available by Voxwomen 

Annemiek van Vleuten wins stage ten of the Giro Rosa (Photo by Luc Claessen/Getty Images)

Annemiek van Vleuten wins stage ten of the Giro Rosa (Photo by Luc Claessen/Getty Images)

The Giro Rosa is one of two 10 day stage races in the women's race calendar - up until the inclusion of the Battle of the North it was the only one, affording it a huge amount of prestige.

Previously called the Giro d'Italia Femminilie, it took on the new name in 2013 and has also been called the Giro Donne in its time.

The Italian stage race was included in the UCI Women's World Tour in its inaugural year of 2016, and had held its place there each year.

One of the hilliest races in the pro women's race season, it's also one of the hilliest.

Prolific former winners include Mara Abbott - with two wins, Marianne Vos with three and Italian Fabiana Luperini with five. Great Britain's year came in 2004, when Nicole Cooke took the win.

Giro Rosa 2019 stages

Read more about the route, and who to watch out for, here.

Stage 1: Cassano Spinola-Castellania, 18km (TTT)

Stage 2: Viù-Viù, 78km

Stage 3: Sagliano Micca-Piedicavallo, 104km

Stage 4: Lissone-Carate Brianza, 100km

Stage 5: Ponte in Valtellina-Valfurva (Passo Gavia), 100km

Stage 6: Chiuro-Teglio, 12km (ITT)

Stage 7: Cornedo Vicentino-Fara Vicentina/San Giorgio di Perlena, 128km

Stage 8: Vittorio Veneto-Maniago

Stage 9: Gemona-Chiusaforte/Malga Montasio, 125km

Stage 10: San Vito al Tagliamento-Udine, 120km

Previous winners of the Giro Rosa

  • 2018: Annemiek van Vleuten
  • 2017: Anna van der Breggen
  • 2016: Megan Guarnier
  • 2015: Anna van der Breggen
  • 2014:  Marianne Vos
  • 2013: Mara Abbott
  • 2012: Marianne Vos
  • 2011: Marianne Vos
  • 2010: Mara Abbott
  • 2009: Claudia Häusler
  • 2008: Fabiana Luperini
  • 2007: Edita Pučinskaitė
  • 2006:  Edita Pučinskaitė
  • 2005:  Nicole Brändli
  • 2004: Nicole Cooke
  • 2003: Nicole Brändli
  • 2002: Svetlana Bubnenkova
  • 2001: Nicole Brändli
  • 2000: Joane Somarriba