DSM deliver Lorena Wiebes to stage five victory on Giro Donne’s first flat day

Anna van der Breggen finishes in the bunch to retain her massive GC lead

Lorena Wiebes wins from a bunch sprint on stage five of the Giro Donne
(Image credit: Luc Claessen/Getty Images)

Once again Lorena Wiebes was able to finish off excellent work from Team DSM winning the stage five bunch kick at the Giro Donne. The Dutch rider hit the wind only with 150m remaining and crossed the line with a bike length gap

Such was the team’s dominance the result was never in doubt when the team came to the front with Canadian Leah Kirchmann at 500m. Emma Norsgaard (Movistar) tried to come round the eventual winner but was unable to get anywhere near, finishing second, with Marianne Vos (Jumbo-Visma) in third.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Owen Rogers is an experienced journalist, covering professional cycling and specialising in women's road racing. He has followed races such as the Women's Tour and Giro d'Italia Donne, live-tweeting from Women's WorldTour events as well as providing race reports, interviews, analysis and news stories. He has also worked for race teams, to provide post race reports and communications.