Tour of Britain 2009: Start list

Organisers of the Tour of Britain have released the provisional start list for the 2009 race, which kicks off in Scunthorpe on Saturday, September 12.

A total of 102 riders have been named – six riders for each of the 17 teams.

Last year’s winner Geoffroy Lequatre (Agritubel) wear the number one plate, he’s supported by a strong French team and will be out to defend his title.

There are a number of big names in this year’s race including many riders who will be familiar to those who followed this year’s Tour de France.

One of the biggest names, for British fans at least, is Bradley Wiggins. Wiggins, who came fourth overall in this year’s Tour de France, heads Garmin-Slipstream’s line-up and his inclusion in the race will be a real crowd-pleaser.

British sprint star Mark Cavendish may be absent from Columbia-HTC’s line-up, but they have rolled out the big guns to fill his shoes. Triple 2008 ToB stage winner Edvald Boasson Hagen heads up a very strong team.

Russian super-squad Katusha also bring along a heavyweight squad that includes Filippo Pozzato, Vladimir Karpets and Britain’s Ben Swift.

The Cervelo team has named both Roger Hammond and Philip Deignan in their provisional line-up, although both are currently riding the Vuelta a Espana. Cycling Weekly has learnt that Daniel Lloyd will replace one of them.

Three of the big British teams roll out their big hitters: CandiTV-Marshalls Pasta, Halfords Bikehut and Rapha Condor will be mixing it up with the continental pros. After his Tour of Ireland win, everyone in the bunch will be keeping an eye on Russell Downing (CandiTV).

The 2009 Tour of Britain comprises of eight stages, starting in Scunthorpe on Saturday, September 12 and finishing in Westminster, London, on Saturday, September 19.

Tour of Britain 2009: Provisional start list

Changes marked next to riders’ names

1 Lequatre, Geoffroy (FRA)
2 Berges, Emilien (FRA)
3 Bouet, Maxime (FRA)
4 Laurent, Christophe (FRA)
5 Ravard, Anthony (FRA)
6 Vogondy, Nicolas (FRA)

11 Cummings, Stephen (GBR)
12 Froome, Christopher (GBR)
13 Hunter, Robert (RSA)
14 Impey, Daryl (RSA)
15 Soler, Mauricio (COL)
16 Thomas, Geraint (GBR)

Team Columbia-HTC
21 Boasson Hagen, Edvald (NOR)
22 Lovkvist, Thomas (SWE)
23 Martin, Tony (GER)
24 Renshaw, Mark (AUS)
25 Rogers, Michael (AUS) – Riding Tour of Missouri
26 Siutsou, Kanstantsin (BLR)

Rapha Condor
31 Greenwood, Ben (GBR)
32 House, Kristian GBR)
33 Lapthorne, Darren (GBR)
34 Newton, Christopher (GBR)
35 Richardson, Simon (GBR)
36 Southam, Tom (GBR)

Candi-TV-Marshalls Pasta
41 Appleby, Dale (GBR)
42 Briggs, Graham (GBR)
43 Elliott, Malcolm (GBR)
44 Downing, Russell (GBR)
45 Sampson, James (GBR)
46 Williams, Peter (GBR)

Ag2r La Mondiale
51 Roche, Nicolas (IRE)
52 Dion, Renaud (FRA)
53 Goubert, Stephane (FRA)
54 Krivtsov, Yuriy (UKR)
55 Mondory, Lloyd (FRA)
56 Sonnery, Blaise (FRA)

61 Stamsnijder, Tom (NED)
62 Brown, Graeme (AUS)
63 Clement, Stef (NED)
64 Ten Dams, Laurens (NED)
65 Niermann, Grischa (GER)
66 Posthuma, Joost (NED)

CSF Navigare
71 Finetto, Mauro (ITA)
72 Frapporti, Marco (ITA)
73 Canuti, Frederico (ITA)
74 Pozzovivo, Domenico (ITA)
75 Savini, Filippo (ITA)
76 Zen, Enrico (ITA)

81 Kristoff, Alexander (NOR)
82 Willmann, Frederik (NOR)
83 Remme, Stian (NOR)
84 Sortveit, Sondre (NOR)
85 Nordhaug, Lars Petter (NOR)
86 Stake Laengen, Vegard (NOR)

91 Wiggins, Bradley (GBR)
92 Duijn, Huub (NED)
93 Lowe, Trent (AUS)
94 Peterson, Tom (USA)
95 Sutton, Chris (AUS)
96 Van Der Velde, Ricardo (NED)

Topsport Vlaanderen
101 De Ketele, Kenny (BEL)
102 Criel, Tom (BEL)
103 De Gendt, Thomas (BEL)
104 Vandewalle, Kristof (BEL)
105 Vanheule, Bart (BEL)
106 Vanspeybrouck, Pieter (BEL)

Cervelo Test Team
111 Appollonio, Davide (ITA)
112 Deignan, Philip (IRE) – riding Vuelta a Espana
113 Fleeman, Dan (GBR)
114 Hammond, Roger (GBR) – riding Vuelta a Espana
115 Hunt, Jeremy (GBR) – riding Tour of Missouri
116 Reimer, Martin (GER)

121 Swift, Ben (GBR)
122 Karpets, Vladimir (RUS)
123 Napolitano, Danilo (ITA)
124 Pozzato, Filippo (ITA)
125 Petrov, Evgueni (RUS)
126 TBC

Halfords Bikehut
131 Clancy, Edward (GBR)
132 Hayles, Robert (GBR)
133 McNally, Mark (GBR)
134 Partridge, Robert (GBR)
135 Tennant, Andrew (GBR)
136 Wilkinson, Ian (GBR)

141 Aramendia, Javier (ESP)
142 Fdez de Larrea, Koldo (ESP)
143 Velasco, Ivan (ESP)
144 De Lis, Sergio (ESP)
145 Agirre, Josu (ESP)
146 Azanza, Jorge (ESP)

151 Ruijgh, Rob (NED)
152 Berkhout, Thomas (NED)
153 Cooke, Baden (AUS)
154 Honig, Reinier (NED)
155 Mol, Wouter (NED)
156 Mortensen, Martin (DEN)

ISD-Neri (updated)
161 Huzarsky, Bartozs (POL)
162 Clarke, Simon (AUS)
163 De Negri, Pierpaolo (ITA)
164 Colo’, Alessandro (ITA)
165 Stannard, Ian (GBR)
166 Ricci Bitti, Davide (ITA)

Related links
Katusha and Rabobank announce Tour of Britain teams
Bradley Wiggins set to ride the Tour of Britain

Cavendish to miss Tour of Britain
Tour of Britain on ITV
Tour of Britain 2008 review