UCI ProTour

Cycle sport's world governing body, the Union Cycliste Internatonale (UCI), has granted ProTour licences to a further seven teams.

Cofidis (2009), Francaise de Jeux (2009-10), Quick Step (2009-11), Saxo Bank (2009-11), Silence-Lotto (2009-11) and Rabobank (2009-12) all have their ProTour licenses renewed, and new Russian squad Katusha (2009-11) are granted a ProTour license for the first time.

The addition of these seven squads to the list of teams belonging to the UCI's top flight brings the total to 16. According to a statement released by the UCI, licence applications made by Bouygues Telecom and Euskaltel-Euskadi are being considered.

Ghent-Wevelgem also received confirmation of its ProTour status, bringing the number of events included in the 2009 ProTour calendar so far to 11. A decision is still outstanding on the Tour of Flanders, Amstel Gold Race and Tour of Benelux.


Events in brackets have ProTour licence pending

January 20-25, Tour Down Under

(April 5, Tour of Flanders)

April 6-11, Vuelta Ciclista al Pais Vasco

April 8, Ghent-Wevelgem

(April 19, Amstel Gold Race)

April 28-May 3, Tour de Romandie

May 18-24, Volta Ciclista a Catalunya

June 7-14, Criterium du Dauphine Libere

June 13-21, Tour de Suisse

August 1, Clasica Ciclista San Sebastian-San Sebastian

August 2-8, Tour de Pologne

August 16, Vattenfall Cyclassics

(August 19-26, Tour of Benelux)

August 23, GP Ouest France-Plouay


Garmin-Chipotle moves up to ProTour

Tuesday's international news round-up


Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on CyclingWeekly.com, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, CyclingWeekly.com would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.