British National Road Championships time trial preview and start lists

The need to know on the British National Road Championship time trials

The 2016 British National Road Championships kick-off on Thursday (June 23) with the elite men’s, women’s and under-23 men’s time trial competitions in Stockton-on-Tees.

Defending champion Alex Dowsett (Movistar) returns in the men’s race to try and earn his fifth national title in the discipline, but will face some stiff competition on the 46.4km circuit.

>> Struggling to get to the shops try 6 issues of Cycling Weekly magazine for just £6 delivered to your door <<

>>> British National Road Championships live TV guide

Owain Doull, Steven Burke and Andy Tennant, all of Team Wiggins, return to the road nationals ahead of their final preparations for the Olympic Games on the track, though 2014 winner Sir Bradley Wiggins will not feature.

Dowsett is the only British WorldTour rider to feature in this year’s men’s competition, however Dan McClay of Pro Continental French team Fortuneo-Vital Concept will take part as he hopes to line-up for the team at the Tour de France on July 2.

The course itself is relatively flat, but will feature some difficult corners within Stockton town centre that could be the difference between the top riders.

Hayley Simmonds, British time trial national championships 2015

Hayley Simmonds, British time trial national championships 2015

Both the women’s and the U23 men’s courses feature the same circuit in the town centre, however will do fewer laps of both that circuit and the out of town circuit, totalling 35.8km for both races.

Emma Pooley, who recently returned from retirement is the most likely to challenge defending champion Hayley Simmonds, and could add a fourth career title in the national champs.

Simmonds will be looking for a second career title after smashing the competition in 2015, and will be hoping to have refined her time trial position since leaving her professional team United Healthcare.

In the U23 race, Scott Davies will be eyeing a third consecutive victory, one that will make him the record holder of that particular title. He’ll face competition from the likes of Tao Geoghagen Hart, Ollie Wood, Tom Bayliss and world points champion Jon Dibben.

Scott Davies, British time trial national championships 2015

Scott Davies, British time trial national championships 2015

2016 British National Road Championships time trial timings

Thursday, June 23

1.01pm: Under-23 men’s time trial starts
2.45pm: Under-23 men’s time trial presentation
3.16pm: Elite women’s time trial starts
5.00pm Elite women’s presentation
5.31pm: Elite men’s time trial starts
7pm: Elite men’s time trial presentation

>>> U23 men’s start list
>>> Women’s start list


Last year’s winners:

Elite men: Alex Dowsett (Movistar)
Elite women: Hayley Simmonds (Velosport)
U23 men: Scott Davies (100%ME)