Caleb Ewan edges out Peter Sagan in Tour Down Under stage six as Richie Porte secures overall

Caleb Ewan completed his dominance of the sprint stages at the 2017 Tour Down Under with victory in the final criterium, as Richie Porte secured overall victory. - Photos by Graham Watson

Caleb Ewan edges out Peter Sagan on the final stage of the 2017 Tour Down Under

(Image credit: Watson)

Caleb Ewan (Orica-Scott) took a superb fourth stage victory at the 2017 Tour Down Under, edging out Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) in the race's final stage as Richie Porte (BMC Racing) secured overall victory.

The 22-year-old Australian had been peerless on every flat stage of the race so far, and so it proved once again as even the world champion was unable to match him in a head-to-head sprint.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.