Ian Stannard wins Omloop Het Nieuwsblad for second time

Ian Stannard manages to beat three Etixx-QuickStep riders in escape group to win Omloop Het Nieuwsblad for second consecutive time

Ian Stannard wins the 2015 Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

(Image credit: Watson)

Ian Stannard (Sky) got the better of a trio of Etixx-QuickStep riders to win a second consecutive Omloop Het Nieuwsblad.

Having made the select group along with Tom Boonen, Niki Terpstra and Stijn Vandenbergh, it had looked as though the Sky rider would be outnumbered and worked over by the Etixx teammates, but a mixture of his strength and the others’ tactical errors saw him overcome the odds and win.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stephen Puddicombe is a freelance journalist for Cycling Weekly, who regularly contributes to our World Tour racing coverage with race reports, news stories, interviews and features. Outside of cycling, he also enjoys writing about film and TV - but you won't find much of that content embedded into his CW articles.