Lars Boom takes BinckBank Tour lead with late attack on stage five; Peter Sagan second

LottoNL-Jumbo rider takes his first win in two years

Lars Boom (LottoNL-Jumbo) won stage five of the BinckBank Tour to move into the race lead as the general classification started to take place on a lumpy day in the Netherlands.

Boom was part of a small group which went off the front on a short, punchy climb with around 12km remaining, before launching an attack of his own in the final two kilometres to cross the line ahead of a small chasing pack lead home by Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe)

>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

The first hilly stage of the 2017 BinckBank Tour saw seven riders get in the day’s early break: Jos Van Emden (LottoNL-Jumbo), Matthias Brändle (Trek-Segafredo), Mads Schimdt (Katusha-Alpecin), Michael Hepburn (Orica-Scott), Jon Insausti (Bahrain-Merida), Jesper Asselman (Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij), and Huub Duijn (Verandas Willems).

They enjoyed a maximum lead of around five minutes, but as the hilly parcours started to bite and the pace started to go up behind, that gap quickly came down.

Team Sunweb and Lotto-Soudal were the two main teams driving the pace, with race leader Stefan Küng being dropped with just under 40km to go after suffering a rear wheel puncture.

Küng quickly found himself nearly a minuter off the back of the main peloton, but benefited from good teamwork from BMC Racing and collaboration with Katusha-Alpecin to steadily close the gap, getting back on with around 20km remaining.

>>> 35 climbs in three stages? The final few days of the BinckBank Tour actually look quite exciting

With 15km remaining, Tim Wellens (Lotto-Soudal), Alexis Gougeard (Ag2r La Mondiale) and Michael Valgren were able to bridge across to the remains of the break, with a number of other riders also joining the move on a short, sharp climb shortly after.

Among the riders coming across were Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) and Peter Sagan, the latter launching a short-lived acceleration with 10km remaining.

That move wasn’t successful, but that didn’t put the two-time world champion off another attack with six kilometres remaining that really stretched out the front group, before Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo) countered with Gougeard in his wheel.

Stuyven and Gougeard enjoyed a few kilometres of freedom before being caught, before Lars Boom (LottoNL-Jumbo) went straight over the top.

Boom instantly opened a large gap, that couldn’t be closed, with Boom crossing the line with daylight between him and the chasing group, which was led home by Sagan.


BinckBank Tour, stage five: Sittard-Geleen to Sittard-Geleen (167.3km)

1. Lars Boom (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo, in 3-43-46
2. Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 3 secs
3. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing
4. Oliver Naesen (Bel) Ag2r La Mondiale
5. Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
6. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors
7. Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Cannondale-Drapac
8. Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal
9. Danny van Poppel (Ned) Team Sky
10. Jasha Sutterlin (Ger) Movistar, all at same time

General classification after stage five

1. Lars Boom (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo, in 15-23-17 15:23:17
2. Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 2 secs 00:00:02
3. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Sunweb, at 9 secs 00:00:08
4. Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal, at 19 secs 00:00:19
5. Jasha Sutterlin (Ger) Movistar Team, at 27 secs 00:00:27
6. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing, at 29 secs
7. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors, at 29 secs
8. Petr Vakoc (Cze) Quick-Step Floors, at 32 secs
9. Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica-Scott, at 35 secs
10. Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo, at 36 secs