National Hill Climb Championships will be held on iconic Winnats Pass in 2021

The famous Derbyshire climb will be a brutal test for next year’s Nationals 

(Image credit: Andy Jones 2014)

The 2021 National Hill Climb Championships will be held on the iconic Winnats Pass, the organisers have announced.

For the first time in 44 years the picturesque climb in Derbyshire will host the Nationals, sparking plenty of enthusiasm from hill climbing fans and competitors. 

The race is scheduled for October 31, 2021 and will be jointly organised by myHill Cycling and Rutland CC with volunteers from Sheffrec CC and Lifting Gear Products/Cycles in Motion.

Announcing the location for the 2021 edition, the organisers said: “We are proud to announce that - for the first time in 44 years - the venue for this event will be the ‘home of hill climbing’: the leg shattering; VO2 busting; cadence crumbling Winnats Pass. In case you hadn’t guessed. 

See more

“Council for considering and allowing this esteemed event to once again be battled out on one of the UK’s most imposing climbs.”

The full length of the climb according to VeloViewer is 1.8km, with an average gradient of 11.4 per cent and a maximum ramp of 18.3 per cent.  

Organisers have also revealed the course will start at the first kerbstone on the left, five metres above the cattle grid and will proceed uphill to the cattle grid sign just before the cattle grid at the top,”basically the steepest/best/worst bit", believed to be around  0.56 miles or 0.9km in length.

They added that the average gradient will be higher than the 11 per cent for the full climb.

>>> Vandals target Ineos Grenadiers team cars in Belgium 

The current KoM-holder on Strava for the full Winnats Pass is the reigning national hill climb champion Andrew Feather (, with a time of 5-47 and an average power of 481w,  while the QoM is held by Emmie Collinge, with a time of 7-51.   

Feather claimed the 2020 National Hill Climb on the 0.5-mile-long HHC005 course in Streately, Berkshire with a time of 2-04.8 and the women’s was won by Bithja Jones (Pankhurst Cycles) with a 2-47.9 

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alex Ballinger

Alex Ballinger is editor of BikeBiz magazine, the leading publication for the UK cycle industry, and is the former digital news editor for After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter, then as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output, and now as the editor of BikeBiz. Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) Alex covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers.  Away from the desk, Alex can be found racing time trials, riding BMX and mountain bikes, or exploring off-road on his gravel bike. He’s also an avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.