Dylan Teuns rises to glory as Julian Alaphilippe loses yellow jersey on stage six of Tour de France 2019

The monstrous Planche des Belles Filles did not disappointment

(Image credit: AFP/Getty Images)

Dylan Teuns rose to a magnificent victory atop La Planche des Belles Filles as the yellow jersey slipped away from Julian Alaphilippe despite a desperate fight on stage six of the 2019 Tour de France.

The glory went to the breakaway as Teuns (Bahrain-Merida) and Giulio Ciccone (Trek-Segafredo) outlasted 12 other escapees to fight for victory at the summit of the brutal climb, with the Belgian riding Ciccone off his wheel in the final 50 metres.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1