Caleb Ewan wins Tour of Britain stage eight as Steve Cummings wraps up overall

The Australian finished well clear of his sprint rivals on the final stage circuit race in central London

Tom Dumoulin, Stephen Cummings and Rohan Dennis on the podium after the final stage of the 2016 Tour of Britain
(Image credit: Graham Watson)

Caleb Ewan (Orica-BikeExchange) sprinted to victory on the final stage of the 2016 Tour of Britain in London, as Steve Cummings (Dimension Data safely navigated the course to secure overall victory.

Cummings carried a 26 second advantage over Rohan Dennis (BMC) into the final stage, but that looked unlikely to be challenged with only 25 seconds worth of time bonuses available at the intermediate sprints along a predominantly flat 100km course around central London.

>>> Loss of WorldTour licence would be ‘horrific’ for Dimension Data

The 16 laps of the circuit were characterised by the early four-man break of Jasper Bovenhuis (AnPost Chain Reaction), Taylor Phinney (BMC), Tom Stewart (Madison Genesis) and Gabriel Cullaigh (GB), that got away and established a maximum gap of around 45 seconds.

Caleb Ewan wins Stage 8 of the 2016 Tour of Britain

Caleb Ewan wins Stage 8 of the 2016 Tour of Britain
(Image credit: Graham Watson)

The break allowed Bovenhuis to hoover up the intermediate points he needed to secure the win in the sprint classification, and the Dimension Data led peloton seemed content to let the four men dangle out in front.

The break survived until around 12km to go, though both Phinney and Steward made lone attacks to try and hold out against the bunch, as did Alex Dowsett (Movistar). But none of those were able to stick and eventually the sprinters' teams began to set their fast men up for a bunch sprint.

Lotto-Soudal looked to be lining up stage one winner André Greipel to contest the finish, but former Belgian champion Jens Debusschere was the allowed to attack off the front by his teammate in the closing kilometre.

And it looked like he might be able to hold out until Boy van Poppel (Trek-Segafredo) made a huge effort to bridge over, and the sprint then opened up behind.

Ewan launched his attack on the right hand side of the road away from the main bunch, and got well ahead of the likes of Dylan Groenewegen (LottoNL-Jumbo) before they could respond, and crossed the line to take the victory.

See more

Cummings came in just behind, and confirmed his overall victory, becoming the second British winner of the race after Bradley Wiggins in 2013.


Tour of Britain 2016, stage 8, London (100km)

1. Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-BikeExchange, in 2-09-24

2. Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo

3. Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto-Soudal

4. Boy van Poppel (Ned) Trek-Segafredo

5. Elia Viviani (Ita) Team Sky

6. André Greipel (Ger) Lotto-Soudal

7. Daniel McLay (GBr) Great Britain

8. Steele Von Hoff (Aus) One Pro Cycling

9. Nicola Ruffoni (Ita) Bardiani-CSF

10. Paolo Simion (Ita) Bardiani-CSF, all same time

Stephen Cummings celebrates his overall win of the 2016 Tour of Britain

Stephen Cummings celebrates his overall win of the 2016 Tour of Britain
(Image credit: Graham Watson)

Final overall classification

1. Steve Cummings (GBr) Dimension Data at 31-30-45

2. Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing at 26 secs

3. Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Giant-Alpecin at 38 secs

4. Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto-Soudal at 1-02

5. Dylan van Baarle (Ned) Cannondale-Drapac at 1-21

6. Nicolas Roche (Irl) Team Sky at 1-26

7. Xandro Meurisse (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert at 1-48

8. Ben Swift (GBr) Team Sky at 1-52

9. Julien Vermote (Bel) Etixx-QuickStep at 2-12

10. Jacopo Mosca (Ita) Trek-Segafredo at 2-32

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Richard Windsor

Follow on Twitter: @richwindy

Richard is digital editor of Cycling Weekly. Joining the team in 2013, Richard became editor of the website in 2014 and coordinates site content and strategy, leading the news team in coverage of the world's biggest races and working with the tech editor to deliver comprehensive buying guides, reviews, and the latest product news.

An occasional racer, Richard spends most of his time preparing for long-distance touring rides these days, or getting out to the Surrey Hills on the weekend on his Specialized Tarmac SL6 (with an obligatory pub stop of course).