Wiggins takes Vuelta overall lead as Moncoutie wins stage

Vuelta a Espana 2011 stage 11 photo gallery by Graham Watson>>

David Moncoutié (Cofidis) won the eleventh stage of the 2011 Vuelta a Espana at the top of the Manzaneda, finishing 1-18 ahead of former breakaway companions Benat Intxausti (Movistar) and Luis Leon Sanchez (Rabobank).

The veteran French rider escaped a nineteen-rider break at the climb’s foot with ten kilometres to go.

Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) leapfrogged Chris Froome to take over the Vuelta race lead.

He helped to chase a stinging Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) attack 1,300 metres from the finish and finished in a dozen-strong group of favourites.

Race leader Froome was distanced with three kilometres to go after driving the pace for Wiggins on the last half of the climb, and sits second overall after losing 27 seconds.

Jakob Fuglsang (Leopard-Trek), who was sat second, between the British pair at the start of the day, finished with Froome, missing an opportunity to regain the leader’s jersey.

Rodriguez gained seven seconds on Wiggins and the other favourites with his late move.

Tomorrow’s twelfth stage is a predominantly-flat 167.3km run from Ponteareas to Pontevedra.

Vuelta a Espana 2011, stage 11: Verín to Estación de Esquí Alto de la Manzaneda, 167km
1. David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis in 4-38-00

2. Benat Intxausti (Spa) Movistar at 1-18
3. Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa) Rabobank at 1-18
4. Mathias Frank (Swi) BMC Racing at 1-36
5. Sergio Paulinho (Por) RadioShack at 1-43
6. Matteo Montaguti (Ita) Ag2r La Mondiale at 2-29
7. Amets Txurruka (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi at 2-29
8. Aitor Perez (Spa) Lampre-ISD at 2-55
9. Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Katusha at 3-01
10. Vicente Bernabeu (Spa) Andalucia Caja Granada at 3-08
13. Bradley Wiggins (GB) Sky at 3-08
22. Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin-Cervelo at 3-08
26. Nicolas Roche (Irl) Ag2r La Mondiale at 3-31
34. Chris Froome (GB) Sky at 3-35
144. Ian Stannard (GB) Sky at 23-00

Overall classification after stage 11
1. Bradley Wiggins (GB) Sky

2. Chris Froome (GB) Sjy at 7 secs
3. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale at 11 secs
4. Frederik Kessiakoff (Swe) Astana at 14 secs
5. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Leopard-Trek at 19 secs
6. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Rabobank at 47 secs
7. Maxime Monfort (Bel) Leopard-Trek at 1-06
8. Juan Jose Cobo (Spa) Geox-TMC at 1-27
9. Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) RadioShack at 1-53
10. Janez Brajkovic (Slo) RadioShack at 2-00
18. Nicolas Roche (Irl) Ag2r La Mondiale at 3-50
23. Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin-Cervelo at 4-38
149. Ian Stannard (GB) Sky 1-59-29

Stuart O

Luis Leon Sanchez (left) and Stuart O’Grady in the escape

Chris Froome and Bradley Wiggins, Vuelta a Espana 2011, stage 11

Chris Froome leads Bradley Wiggins

David Moncoutie solo, Vuelta a Espana 2011, stage 11

David Moncoutie goes solo

Bradley Wiggins chases, Vuelta a Espana 2011, stage 11

Bradley Wiggins heads the chase

David Moncoutie, stage winner, Vuelta a Espana 2011, stage 11

David Moncoutie takes the win

Bradley Wiggins in race lead, Vuelta a Espana 2011, stage 11

Bradley Wiggins in the race lead

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Related links

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Cycling Weekly’s coverage index

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Latest news
Vuelta tackles unknown mountain top finish today
Froome: “This lead is a big milestone”
Wiggins in Vuelta: “We’re in an amazing position”
Dan Martin delighted with King of the Mountains jersey
Sky dominates in Vuelta a Espana
Martin delighted with first ever grand tour stage win
Wiggins: A fantastic finish
Interview: Wiggins looks ahead of crucial three days of Vuelta
Farrar taken to hospital after Vuelta crash
Arvesen quits Vuelta with crash injuries
Anton suffers again but Rodriguez becomes Spain’s top contender
Wiggins pleased with strong ride in Spanish sierras
Cavendish abandons Vuelta a Espana
Cavendish battles on in summer scorcher in Vuelta
Vuelta heads for first major showdown on Tuesday
Matt Goss first rider to abandon Vuelta
Team Sky’s TTT horror on troublesome course
Dan Martin confident and collected as Vuelta team leader
Pro predictions: Who will win the Vuelta?
HTC-Highroad’s reservations about TTT course
Vuelta team time trial start order
Sky plans early start for Vuelta team time trial recon
Wiggins looking to minimise losses in testing Vuelta TTT
Riders voice support for Hushovd over Vuelta exclusion
Cancellara late to Vuelta after being hospitalised by bee sting
Nibali back for victory again in 2011 Vuelta
Wiggins: “I’m in a great position going into the Vuelta”
Wiggins confirmed as Sky leader for the Vuelta
Freire: It’ll be tough in the Vuelta with Cavendish
Hushovd left out of Vuelta; Dan Martin to lead Garmin-Cervelo
Cavendish and Wiggins on provisional Vuelta start list
Climbers set to dominate in 2011 Vuelta
Millar on 2011 Vuelta: ‘Modern-looking and very challenging”
2011 Vuelta set to return to Angliru and Basque country
Angliru back in 2011 Tour of Spain
Hushovd left out of Vuelta; Martin to lead Garmin-Cervélo

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Teams, riders, start list
Vuelta a Espana 2011: Who’s riding?
Vuelta a Espana 2011 team list

Vuelta a Espana 2011
: Stage reports

Stage 10: Brit Froome moves into overall Vuelta lead after time trial

Stage nine: Martin wins as Wiggins moves further up GC

Stage eight: Rodriguez wins again to take overall lead

Stage seven: Kittel wins chaotic bunch sprint

Stage six: Sagan takes Vuelta stage win in controversial circumstances

Stage five: Rodriguez takes second win for Katusha but Chavanel holds on

Stage four: Moreno wins first mountain skirmish at Sierra Nevada

Stage three: Lastras solos to stage and takes red jersey

Stage two: Sutton grabs stage win to set things right for Sky

Stage one: Leopard-Trek win opening TTT to put Fuglsang in front

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Photo galleries
By Graham Watson
Stage 10 photo gallery
Stage nine photo gallery
Stage eight photo gallery
Stage seven photo gallery
Stage six photo gallery
Stage five photo gallery
Stage four photo gallery
Stage three photo gallery
Stage two photo gallery
Stage one photo gallery

Vuelta a Espana 2011: TV guide

Vuelta a Espana 2011: ITV4 TV schedule

Vuelta a Espana 2011: British Eurosport TV schedule

ITV to show 2011 Vuelta