Dylan van Baarle solos to Paris-Roubaix win after frenetic edition

The Dutchman caps off the spring campaign of his life with his maiden Monument victory

Dylan van Baarle
(Image credit: Getty)

Dylan van Baarle's attack 19km from the line was enough to secure Ineos Grenadiers' first-ever Paris-Roubaix win after a frenetic day's racing in northern France.

The 29-year-old built on a superb spring, which included finishing second at the Tour of Flanders, by attacking multiple times throughout the day, his final one on the Camphin-en-Pévèle cobbled sector proving decisive.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Chris Marshall-Bell

A freelance sports journalist and podcaster, you'll mostly find Chris's byline attached to news scoops, profile interviews and feature writing across a variety of different publications. He has been writing regularly for Cycling Weekly since 2013.

Previously a ski, hiking and cycling guide in a number of places, but mostly in the Canadian Rockies and Spanish Pyrenees, he almost certainly holds the record for the most number of interviews conducted from snowy mountains.

He lives in Valencia, Spain.