Koen Bouwman climbs to victory on stage 19 of the Giro d'Italia as Richard Carapaz stays in pink

Dutchman wins second stage and all but secures mountains classification in process

Koen Bouwman
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Koen Bouwman took his second stage win of the Giro d'Italia atop the Santuario di Castelmonte on stage 19, as he charged to victory out of what was left of the breakaway.

The Jumbo-Visma rider also secured the mountains jersey with the points he gained across the day, all he has to do is stay on his bike for the final two days.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Adam Becket
News editor

Adam is Cycling Weekly’s news editor – his greatest love is road racing but as long as he is cycling on tarmac, he's happy. Before joining Cycling Weekly he spent two years writing for Procycling, where he interviewed riders and wrote about racing. He's usually out and about on the roads of Bristol and its surrounds. Before cycling took over his professional life, he covered ecclesiastical matters at the world’s largest Anglican newspaper and politics at Business Insider. Don't ask how that is related to cycling.