British Riders of 2013: Number 11

Cycling Weekly is counting down the top 30 British Riders of the Year thoughout December. The top 10 will be revealed in the December 19 issue of Cycling Weekly magazine.


The national cyclo-cross champion Nikki Harris has enjoyed a purple patch of form as autumn has paved the way for winter.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Having ended Helen Wyman’s seven-year streak of national titles at the start of the year – after placing third overall in the 2012/13 cyclo-cross World Cup – Harris appears to have stepped up a level this season.

The 26-year-old finished third in the opening round of the World Cup at Valkenberg behind Marianne Vos and Katie Compton.

She followed that with second place in the next World Cup at Tabor in the Czech Republic.

A string of podium positions followed – second to Wyman at the Ruddervoorde Superprestige and European Championships in Mlada Boleslav, third to Wyman at the prestigious Koppenberg event, third again at the Gavere Superprestige and, most recently, third behind Compton and Sanne Cant in the Koksijde World Cup.

In among all those results came her biggest win to date – victory in the Belgian mud at the Hamme-Zogge Superprestige.

That marked a breakthrough of sorts, but the race is on now to see whether Harris or Wyman will be the first to win a round of the World Cup or a medal at the World Championships.

Having two top riders from Britain spurring each other on adds an extra dimension to the racing and the number of times both Harris and Wyman have been on the podium this season suggests they might land one before this current season is out.   

British Riders of the Year 2013: Related links

Number 12: Peter Kennaugh

Number 13: Liam Phillips

Number 14: Elinor Barker

Number 15: Dani King

Number 16: Dannielle Khan

Number 17: Katie Archibald

Number 18: Mike Cuming

Number 19: Tao Geoghegan Hart

Number 20: Joanna Rowsell

Number 21: Adam Yates

Number 22: Geraint Thomas

Number 23: Lizzie Armitstead

Number 24: Jason Kenny

Number 25: Evan Oliphant

Number 26: Ian Stannard

Number 27: Kenta Gallagher

Number 28: Emily Kay

Number 29: Owain Doull

Number 30: Katie Colclough