Keisse and Morkov take early lead on first day of Ghent Six

Etixx pair lead Lotto's Otto Vergaerde and Jasper De Buyst by eight points after the first day of racing

Iljo Keisse and Michael Morkov (Etixx – QuickStep) took an early lead after day one of the 75th Ghent Six.

The pair sit eight points ahead of Lotto pair Otto Vergaerde and Jasper De Buyst, who jumped up to second place after their win in the Madison; the final event of the evening.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

>>> Ghent Six: everything you need to know

Belgian Six-Day veteran Keisse hit the boards in a crash during the Madison,  but didn’t seem to suffer to much damage and should be at full strength for day two.

The Etixx pair impressed throughout the night, having started the race as favourites, winning the time trial and the team elimination, as Keisse narrowly sprinted to the line ahead of Kenny De Ketele.

De Ketele and his Baloise teammate Gijs Van Hoecke looked to go head-to-head with Morkov and Keisse early on in proceedings, but eventually slipped to 13 points behind the leaders in fourth, with Morgan Kneisky & Moreno De Pauw (Provincie OOst-Vlaanderen) moving into third.

Day one went ahead as planned on Tuesday night, despite concerns earlier in the week over the events safety after the Paris attacks last Friday. Extra security measures were put in place by the organisers for the Six-Day, including no bags inside the venue and sniffer dogs.

Ghent Six-Day 2015 – Classification after day one:

1. Iljo Keisse/Michael Mørkøv (Etixx-QuickStep) – 86 points
2. Jasper De Buyst/Otto Vergaerde (Lotto) – 78 points
3. Moreno De Pauw/Morgan Kneisky (Provincie OOst-Vlaanderen) – 76 points
4. Gijs Van Hoecke/Kenny De Ketele (Baloise Insurance) – 73 points
5. Marc Hester/Alex Rasmussen (John Saey–Lecot-Raedschelders) – 26 points + 1 lap
6. Jesper Mørkøv/Nick Stöpler (Caruur) – 20 points + 2 laps
7. Melvin van Zijl/Yoeri Havik (3M) – 23 points + 3 laps
8. Christian Grasmann/Marcel Kalz (Primus Haacht) – 13 points + 3 laps
9. Christopher Lawless/Roy Pieters (Vanreusel Snacks) – 15 points + 5 laps
10. Benjamin Thomas/Tristan Marguet (Callant – Upgrade Estate) – 6 points + 6 laps