Liege-Bastogne-Liege pulls the curtain down on the 2010 Spring Classics on Sunday, April 25.

The oldest and generally considered the toughest of the Spring Classics, Liege-Bastogne-Liege features 10 climbs plus the leg-sapping final ascent to the finish line in Ans.

This year’s route has been revised by organiser ASO to take into account roadworks that have ruled out the Haute-Levée and Vecquée climbs. These have been replaced by Col du Maquisard and Mont-Theux, positioned at 60km and 55km from the finish line respectively.

Last year, Andy Schleck (Saxo Bank) jumped away on the penultimate climb, Côte de la Roche aux Faucons, to catch and pass escapee Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto) and take a textbook solo win.

Schleck will be looking to repeat his win this year, and will again be up against Amstel Gold winner Gilbert and Fleche Wallonne winner Cadel Evans (BMC Racing Team) – both of whom are on top form.

Last year’s runner-up Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) has amassed an impressive array of results so far this season, and will be looking to round off his spring with a win at La Doyenne. Rodriguez was runner-up to Evans at Wednesday’s Fleche Wallonne.

Other contenders to watch out for include double Liege winner Alejandro Valverde (Caisse d’Epargne), Damiano Cunego (Lampre), Chris Horner (RadioShack), Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Transitions), Alberto Contador (Astana) and Simon Gerrans (Team Sky).

Liege-Bastogne-Liege 2010: Route


Sunday, April 25

Distance: 258km

Starts: Liege

Finish: Ans (Liege)

Click on the images below to enlarge them in a new window

Liege-Bastogne-Liege 2010 map

Liege-Bastogne-Liege 2010 profile

Liege-Bastogne-Liege 2010: Teams

Acqua & Sapone

Ag2r La Mondiale

Androni Giocattoli


Bbox Bouygues Telecom

BMC Racing Team

Caisse d’Epargne




Francaise des Jeux








Omega Pharma-Lotto

Quick Step



Saxo Bank

Team Sky

Topsport Vlaanderen

Liege-Bastogne-Liege 2010: British riders

Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky)

Steve Cummings (Team Sky)

Chris Froome (Team Sky)

Liege-Bastogne-Liege 2010: TV guide

Sunday, April 25: 1-4pm, LIVE coverage, British Eurosport

Monday, April 26: 1-2.30pm, highlights, British Eurosport

Liege-Bastogne-Liege: Recent winners

2009 Andy Schleck (Luxembourg)

2008 Alejandro Valverde (Spain)

2007 Danilo Di Luca (Italy)

2006 Alejandro Valverde (Spain)

2005 Alexandre Vinokourov (Kazakhstan)

2004 Davide Rebellin (Italy)

2003 Tyler Hamilton (USA)

2002 Paolo Bettini (Italy)

2001 Oscar Camenzind (Switzerland)

2000 Paolo Bettini (Italy)

1999 Frank Vandenbroucke (Belgium)

andy schleck liege bastogne liege 2009

Andy Schleck wins in 2009

Liege-Bastogne-Liege: Last year’s top ten

1. Andy Schleck (Lux) Saxo Bank in 6-34-32

2. Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne at 1-17

3. Davide Rebellin (Ita) Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni at 1-24

4. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Silence-Lotto

5. Serguei Ivanov (Rus) Katusha

6. Simon Gerrans (Aus) Cervelo Test Team

7. Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-NGC

8. Benoit Vaugrenard (Fra) Francaise des Jeux

9. Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Saxo Bank

10. Samuel Sanchez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi all same time.


45. Chris Froome (GB) Barloworld at 2-54

DNF Steve Cummings (GB) Barloworld

Related links

Spring Classics 2010: Cycling Weekly’s coverage index

Climbs of Liege-Bastogne-Liege