Giro d'Italia announces record 23 teams to race

giro d'italia 2011

The Italian Grand Tour, the Giro d'Italia will start with a record 23 teams in May. The organiser announced the news today, inviting all 18 first division teams and five second division teams to race.

Great Britain's first division team, Sky, will join the other first division ProTeams and the Giro's wild card selections: Geox-TMC, Acqua & Sapone, Androni Giocattoli, Colnago-CSF Inox and Farnese Vini-Neri Sottoli. Both 2008 Tour de France winner Carlos Sastre and 2009 Giro winner Denis Menchov race for team Geox.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Gregor Brown

Gregor Brown is an experienced cycling journalist, based in Florence, Italy. He has covered races all over the world for over a decade - following the Giro, Tour de France, and every major race since 2006. His love of cycling began with freestyle and BMX, before the 1998 Tour de France led him to a deep appreciation of the road racing season.