Olympics 2020

Bradley Wiggins leads the GB team pursuit on their way to qualifying fastest at the 2016 Olympic Games (Watson)

Olympic Games, 2020
Location: Tokyo
Dates: July 24 – August 9, 2020

The cycling calendar is usually quite a fixed affair, with the same races appearing every season generally in the same familiar slot. But every four years a spanner gets thrown in the works in the form of the Olympic Games.

2020 is, of course, one of those years, and between July 24 and August 9 this year the world’s best riders will convene in Tokyo in the hope of adding an Olympic medal to their palmares.

The Olympic games include road, track, mountain bike and BMX events.

>>> Rio 2016 Olympic Games cycling events medal table

Road events

The most comparable annual race on the road calendar to the Olympic road race is the World Championships. Both events feature a circuit-based road race and lengthy time-trial, and in both events riders compete for their nation rather than their trade team.

Unlike the Worlds and most other races, where failure one year is at least compensated by the chance to try again in 12 months’ time, riders only get a few shots at winning an Olympic medal throughout their entire careers, and consequently the event attracts stellar fields.

Greg Van Avermaet wins the men's road race at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games

Greg Van Avermaet wins the men’s road race at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games

In Tokyo, the men’s road race will take place on Saturday, July 25. The women’s road race follows on Sunday, July 26.

On Wednesday July 29, both men and women will race their respective individual time trials.

Track events

Following the road events will be six days of track cycling within the Izu Velodrome, from Monday August 3 to Sunday August 9.

Riders will contest the team pursuit, omnium, sprint, team sprint and – newly added for 2020 – he madison.

The omnium features a revised format, with four endurance events (scratch, elimination, tempo and points race) included over one day of competition, as opposed to the previous two days which also included a flying lap, time trial, and individual pursuit.

For an in-depth explanation of each event, check out our guide to track cycling disciplines. 

Tokyo 2020 Olympic Schedule

Road race events

Saturday July 25, men’s road race, 11.00-18.15, (234km) Route
Sunday July 26, women’s road race, 13.00-17.35 (137km) Route

Time trial events

Wednesday July 29, men’s and women’s time trials, 11.30-17.20, (44.2km and 22.1km) Route

Track events

Monday August 3, 15:30 – 18:30

Women’s Team Sprint Qualifying
Women’s Team Pursuit Qualifying
Women’s Team Sprint First round
Men’s Team Pursuit Qualifying
Women’s Team Sprint Finals
Women’s Team Sprint Victory Ceremony

Tuesday August 4, 15:30 – 18:10

Women’s Team Pursuit First round
Men’s Team Sprint Qualifying
Men’s Team Pursuit First round
Men’s Team Sprint First round
Women’s Team Pursuit Finals
Men’s Team Sprint Finals
Women’s Team Pursuit Victory Ceremony
Men’s Team Sprint Victory Ceremony

Wednesday August 5, 15:30 – 19:00

Men’s Sprint Qualifying
Women’s Keirin First round
Men’s Sprint 1/32 Finals
Women’s Keirin First round Repechages
Men’s Sprint 1/32 Finals Repechages
Men’s Team Pursuit Finals
Men’s Sprint 1/16 Finals
Men’s Team Pursuit Victory Ceremony
Men’s Sprint 1/16 Finals Repechages

Thursday August 5, 15:30 – 18:50

Men’s Omnium Scratch Race 1\4
Men’s Sprint 1/8 Finals
Women’s Keirin Second Round
Men’s Sprint 1/8 Finals Repechages
Men’s Omnium Tempo Race 2\4
Men’s Sprint 1/4 Finals
Women’s Keirin Third Round
Men’s Omnium Elimination Race 3\4
Women’s Keirin Final Places 7 to 12
Women’s Keirin Finals
Men’s Omnium Points Race 4\4
Men’s Sprint Final Places 5 to 8
Women’s Keirin Victory Ceremony
Men’s Omnium Victory Ceremony

Friday August 7, 15:30 – 19:15

Women’s Sprint Qualifying
Men’s Sprint 1/2 Finals
Women’s Sprint 1/32 Finals
Women’s Sprint 1/32 Finals Repechages
Women’s Madison Final
Men’s Sprint Final Places 3-4 & 1-2
Women’s Sprint 1/16 Finals
Women’s Madison Victory Ceremony
Women’s Sprint 1/16 Finals Repechages
Men’s Sprint Victory Ceremony

BMX events

Thurs July 30, BMX Racing Qualifiers, 10.00-12.00
Fri July 31, BMX Racing Finals, 10.00-12.20
Sat August 1, BMX Freestyle Qualifiers, 10.10-12.20
Sun August 2, BMX Freestyle Finals, 10.10-12.45

MTB events

Mon July 27, men’s cross country, 15.00-17.00
Tues July 28, women’s cross country, 15.00-17.00

Reigning champions: Rio 2016 winners

  • Men’s road race: Greg Van Avermaet (Belgium)
  • Women’s road race Anna van der Breggen (Netherlands)
  • Women’s time trial: Kristin Armstrong (USA)
  • Men’s time trial: Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland)
  • Men’s team sprint: Great Britain
  • Women’s team sprint: China
  • Men’s team pursuit: Great Britain
  • Women’s team pursuit: Great Britain
  • Men’s sprint: Jason Kenny (Great Britain)
  • Women’s sprint: Kristina Vogel (Germany)
  • Men’s keirin: Jason Kenny (Great Britain)
  • Women’s keirin: Elis Ligtlee (Netherlands)
  • Men’s omnium: Elia Viviani (Italy)
  • Women’s omnium: Laura Trott (Great Britain)
  • Men’s BMX: Connor Fields (USA)
  • Women’s BMX: Mariana Pajon (Colombia)
  • Men’s mountain bike: Nino Schurter (Switzerland)