The Women’s Tour 2019: everything you need to know

The race will have an extra day in 2019 - with six stages, starting on Monday June 10

The international women’s peloton comes to the UK in June for the sixth edition of the Ovo Energy Women’s Tour.

The Women’s Tour of 2019 will take place from June 10-15 – and will be comprised of six stages, an extra day on previous editions.

Since 2018, the prize fund has been equal to that of the men’s Tour of Britain, increasing from €35,000 (£31,000) to €90,000 (£80,000).

The race was awarded UCI Women’s WorldTour status in 2016, meaning that it is part of the top-level series of international races. All of the top women’s teams will therefore take part.

The last edition of the race was won by Coryn Rivera (Sunweb), who picked up the points jersey as well for her fast finishes and results at intermediate sprints.

This year’s start list is yet to be confirmed. However, we know 15 of the top UCI Women’s World Tour teams will be there, alongside British squad Trek Drops.

British crowds will no doubt watch in anticipation as former world champion Lizzie Deignan (Trek-Segafredo) pins on a number, continuing her charge towards the Yorkshire world championships after the birth of her first child.

Former winner Marianne Vos (CCC-Liv) is also expected to start, as is reigning champion Rivera. Other names we expect to see dotted throughout the start list include 2017 winner Kasia Niewiadoma (Canyon-SRAM), as well as everyone’s favourite post-race interview giver, Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig (Bigla Pro Cycling), fresh from several spring classic podiums.

>> London finale shows Women’s Tour is ‘biggest and best’ stage race in the world, says organiser

Women’s Tour 2019 route and where to watch

The Women's Tour 2019 route

The Women’s Tour 2019 route

The Women’s Tour route has been progressively harder and hillier every year, and 2019 is no exception.

The race kicks off in Suffolk, with a 157.6 km stage from Beccles to Stowmarket.

The following day, audiences will enjoy a particularly spectator friendly stage, with a 62.5km criterium style event at Kent’s Cyclopark. The local cycling hub and popular circuit covers 2.5km, meaning riders will complete 25 laps.

Oxfordshire’s stage three will finish at the UNESCO World Heritage Site, Blenheim Palace, with a start in Henley-on-Thames.

The following day, fans can enjoy a hilltop finish in Burton Dassett Country Park, at the end of the 158.9km stage from Warwick to Burton Dassett Country Park.

Stage five will be the hilliest, and we can expect a shake up in the GC. The race moves to Wales on Friday June 14, with a 140km stage from Llandrindod Wells and Builth Wells. The stage accumulates 2,2000 metres of climbing in total.

The final day of racing sees the peloton attack undulating  terrain as the travel from Carmarthen to Pembrey Country Park, over 126km.

Stage one, Monday June 10 Beccles to Stowmarket 157.6km
Stage two, Tuesday June 11 The Kent Cyclopark, Gravesend Stage 62.5km
Stage three, Wednesday June 12 Henley-on-Thames to Blenheim Palace 145.1km
Stage four, Thursday June 13 Warwick to Burton Dassett Country Park 158.9km
Stage five, Friday June 14 Llandrindod Wells to Builth Wells 140km
Stage six, Saturday June 15 Carmarthen to Pembrey Country Park 126km

Women’s Tour 2019 live TV

The race is usually broadcast on ITV4, and we can expect this to continue into next year.

We’ll put timings up here when they’re available.

Women’s Tour 2019 jerseys

There will be five classifications available to compete for in 2019.

The star prize at the Women’s Tour is the Green jersey, awarded to the leader of the General Classification. In 2018, this went to Coryn Rivera (Sunwb).

Other honours include the Points jersey, with points going to the top 15 – this went to Marianne Vos (WaowDeals) in 2018. The Sprints jersey celebrates the leader of the intermediate sprints, which was also awarded to Rivera in the last edition.

The Queen of the Mountains jersey is awarded to the rider who takes the most points on designated climbs – and Elisa Longo Borghini (Wiggle High5) won this in 2018.

The Best British rider gets a jersey to show their status, 2018’s victor was Dani Rowe (WaowDeals), whose team was also awarded the best team status.

Women’s Tour: previous winners

2018 Coryn Rivera (USA)
2017 Kasia Niewaidoma (Poland)
2016 Lizzie Armistead (Great Britain)
2015 Lisa Brennauer (Germany)
2014 Marianne Vos (Netherlands)