Magnus Cort Nielsen sprints to breakaway victory on stage 15 of the 2018 Tour de France

Danish sprinter survives first category climb to take victory in Carcassonne

Magnus Cort Nielsen wins stage 15 of the 2018 Tour de France

(Image credit: Tim de Waele/Getty Images)

Magnus Cort Nielsen (Astana) took a breakaway victory on stage 15 of the Tour de France as he made it over the first-category Pic de Nore to out-sprint Ion Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida) and Bauke Mollema (Trek-Segafredo) in Carcassonne.

The Danish sprinter was part of a 29-strong breakaway group that went clear after more than 40km of constant attacking, and then survived a tough end to the stage as the likes of Rafal Majka (Bora-Hasngrohe) and Lilian Calmejane (Direct Energie) attacked on the 19km climb before a long descent to the finish.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.