Julian Alaphilippe sprints to victory on stage three of Tour of Britain 2018

Tony Martin's escape group of four was pulled back with 10km remaining to give way to a sprint finish

Julian Alaphilippe wins stage three (Photo by Justin Setterfield/Getty Images)

Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) claimed victory on stage three of the Tour of Britain.

The Frenchman had the benefit of a lead out from Luxembourg champion, Bob Jungles - before jumping onto the wheel of Mads Würtz Schmidt (Katusha-Alpecin) - who opened his sprint with 500 metres remaining.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Michelle Arthurs-Brennan

Michelle Arthurs-Brennan the Editor of Cycling Weekly website. An NCTJ qualified traditional journalist by trade, Michelle began her career working for local newspapers. She's worked within the cycling industry since 2012, and joined the Cycling Weekly team in 2017, having previously been Editor at Total Women's Cycling. Prior to welcoming her daughter in 2022, Michelle raced on the road, track, and in time trials, and still rides as much as she can - albeit a fair proportion indoors, for now.