Tour of Lombardy 2010: The Big Preview

The 2010 professional racing season draws to a close on Saturday, October 16, with the final event on the UCI’s World Calendar – the Tour of Lombardy.

This year’s ‘race of the falling leaves’ will run from Milan to Como for the first time in 26 years. On that occasion, in 1984, Bernhard Hinault of France took the victory.

Adding to a route that already favours the climbers, this year’s race includes a 1,124-metre ascent to Colma di Sormano, coming after the famous Ghisallo climb. The race’s final climb to San Fermo is within the final 10km, providing a flashpoint for a late attack.

Last year Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma) became only the fourth non-Italian to win the race since 1995. The attacking Belgian will again rank as one of the favourites for the win this year. Watch out, too, for Ireland’s Daniel Martin (Garmin) who placed eighth last year and was second in this year’s similarly tough Giro dell’Emilia.

The race has only been won by a British rider once – Tom Simpson in 1965.

Tour of Lombardy 2010: Route
Date: Saturday, October 16 2010
Distance: 260km
Start: Milan, Italy
Finish: Como, Italy
Major climbs: Intelvi (779m at 64.1km), Portone (503m at 142km), Colle di Balisio (723m at 161.1km), Madonna del Ghisallo (754m at 203.2km), Colma di Sormano (1,124m at 219km), San Fermo (397m at 254.9km)

Tour of Lombardy 2010 profile

Profile from Giro di Lombardia

Tour of Lombardy 2010: Teams
Acqua & Sapone
Ag2r La Mondiale
Androni Giocattoli-Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni
BMC Racing Team
Caisse d’Epargne
Carmiooro NGC
Cervelo Test Team
Colnago-CSF Inox
Euskaltel – Euskadi
Francaise des Jeux
Lampre-Vini Farnese
Omega Pharma-Lotto
Quick Step
Saxo Bank
Team Sky

Tour of Lombardy 2010: The British
Steve Cummings (Team Sky)
Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky)

Tour of Lombardy 2010: British TV guide
The 2010 Tour of Lombardy will be shown live on cable and satellite channel British Eurosport.
Sat October 16: 2.45-4.15pm: Tour of Lombardy, LIVE, British Eurosport
Sat October 16: 9.30-10.30pm: Tour of Lombardy, highlights, British Eurosport
Sun October 17: 11.30am-12.15pm: Tour of Lombardy, highlights, British Eurosport

Lake Como, Tour of Lombardy 2009

Tour of Lombardy: Recent winners
2009: Philippe Gilbert (Bel)
2008: Damiano Cunego (Ita)
2007: Damiano Cunego (Ita)
2006: Paolo Bettini (Ita)
2005: Paolo Bettini (Ita)
2004: Damiano Cunego (Ita)
2003: Michele Bartoli (Ita)
2002: Michele Bartoli (Ita)
2001: Danilo Di Luca (Ita)

Tour of Lombardy: Last year’s top ten
1. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Silence-Lotto in 5-43-45
2. Samuel Sanchez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi
3. Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Saxo Bank at 7secs
4. Luca Paolini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone at 8secs
5. Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Vacansoleil
6. Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank
7. Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) Astana
8. Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin-Slipstream
9. Juan Jose Cobo Acebo (Spa) Fuji-Servetto
10. Cadel Evans (Aus) Silence-Lotto all same time.
55. Daniel Fleeman (GB) Cervelo at 2-53
DNF Charly Wegelius (GB) Silence-Lotto

Related links

2010 Tour of Lombardy changes course

Gilbert wins 2009 Tour of Lombardy

2010 UCI World Calendar: ProTour and Historic races

External link

Giro di Lombardia official website

Upcoming events