Wout Van Aert victorious on stage four of Tour de France with solo attack

The Belgian attacked in the final 11km of the race, and powered to victory as he extends his lead in the yellow jersey

Wout Van Aert Tour de France
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) triumphed on stage four of the Tour de France, extending his lead in the yellow jersey as the overall leader of the race in the process.

After finishing second on the opening three stages of the 2022 Tour, Van Aert decided to take matters into his own hands and attack early with 11km remaining, on the final categorised climb of the day. Initially his Jumbo-Visma teammates joined him, with Ineos Grenadiers the only other team able to follow. 

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Staff Writer

Ryan is a staff writer for Cycling Weekly, having joined the team in September 2021. He first joined Future in December 2020, working across FourFourTwo, Golf Monthly, Rugby World and Advnture's websites, before making his way to cycling. After graduating from Cardiff University with a degree in Journalism and Communications, Ryan earned a NCTJ qualification to further develop as a writer.