How to watch Filippo Ganna's World Hour Record attempt: Live stream the event

Here's how to catch the Italian's long-awaited Hour Record attempt

Filippo Ganna training for the hour record attempt in Grenchen, Switzerland
(Image credit: Ineos Grenadiers)

This weekend, former world time trial champion Filippo Ganna will take a hotly anticipated stab at the UCI World Hour Record. 

The current distance the Italian will have to beat is 55.548km, set by his Ineos Grenadiers colleague, Dan Bigham, at the Tissot Velodrome in Grenchen, Switzerland, this August. 

On Saturday, Ganna will take to the same track centre to see if his physical limits can take him further. The 26-year-old will race a custom, 3D-printed bike in his effort, which he expects to constitute "an hour of pure suffering"

Ganna will begin his Hour Record attempt at 19:00 BST (20:00 CET) on Saturday 8 October. You can find out how to watch the event wherever you are with our handy guide and with ExpressVPN (opens in new tab).

It is a busy weekend of racing, with Ganna's tilt at the Hour Record taking place alongside Il Lombardia, the Gravel World Championships and Paris-Tours. All of the action across those events will be shown on GCN+ worldwide. 

Watch Filippo Ganna's Hour Record attempt worldwide

Ganna's Hour Record attempt will be broadcast live around the world, with GCN+ (opens in new tab)Discovery+ (opens in new tab) and Eurosport (opens in new tab)'s online platform all showing the action. 

Coverage of the event will begin at 18:45 BST (19:45 CET / 10:45 PT / 13:45 ET).

To gain access to Discovery+ and Eurosport coverage, you can subscribe for £59.99 a year, or £6.99 per month. Alternatively, access to GCN+ costs £39.99 a year, or £6.99 per month.

If you’re not in the country for the Hour Record attempt, no problem – you can just download and install a VPN (opens in new tab) and use a location inside the United Kingdom to watch the broadcast live as if you were back home. 

Setting up a VPN is simple – just download, install, open the app and select your location. 

Try out Express VPN (opens in new tab) for its speed, security and simplicity to use. It is also compatible with a range of devices and streaming services (e.g. Amazon Fire TV Stick, Apple TV, Xbox, PS4, etc.), giving you the option to watch wherever you want.

There are other great options out there, of course, but Express VPN gives you the added benefit of a 30-day money back guarantee and three months free with a yearly plan.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.