Chris Froome misses out on BBC Sports Personality of the Year award as Mo Farah wins

Runner Mo Farah defies pre-event predictions to scoop the 2017 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award as Chris Froome fails to make top three

Chris Froome.

(Image credit: ASO/A.Broadway)

Chris Froome failed to make the top three in the BBC's 2017 Sports Personality of the Year awards, as runner Mo Farah was an unexpected winner.

Bookmakers had put boxer Anthony Joshua as leading favourite for the annual prize among the 12 sportspeople on the shortlist, with Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton also thought to be in the running.

However, like Froome, neither Joshua or Hamilton made the top three after the public voted during the live televised SPOTY show on Sunday evening hosted by the Echo Arena in Liverpool.

Farah beat motorbike racer Jonathan Rea in second and para athlete Jonnie Peacock in third.

>>> Chris Froome: ‘My legacy won’t be tainted’

Tour de France and Vuelta a España winner Froome had looked to be in a strong position to challenge to the prize after a record-breaking season. But the Team Sky rider's chances were dented on Wednesday when news broke that he had returned an adverse analytical finding for salbutamol at the Vuelta after stage 18 on September 7.

Froome eventually finished seventh on the voting, with 47,683 votes to Farah's winning vote count of 83,524.

Voting appeared to be considerably down on previous years. Last year's winner, Andy Murray, won with 247,419 votes.

In accordance with Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) anti-doping protocol, Froome is currently not suspended from racing while his case is being dealt with.

Froome and Sky are gathering evidence to support their assertion that Froome did not knowingly break anti-doping rules.

Froome could face a suspension from competition and have his Vuelta win annulled should he be found to have broken the rules.

BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2017 votes

Mo Farah: 83,524 votes

Jonathan Rea: 80,567

Jonnie Peacock: 73,429

Anthony Joshua: 73,411

Adam Peaty: 63,739

Lewis Hamilton: 60,627

Chris Froome: 47,683

Harry Kane: 18,759

Anya Shrubsole: 15,237

Bianca Walkden: 13,962

Johanna Konta: 7,591

Elise Christie: 6,504

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1