Wildcard teams announced for 2016 Critérium du Dauphiné and Paris-Nice

Wanty-Groupe Gobert and Bora-Argon receive invitations to the Critérium du Dauphine, while Paris-Nice is an all-French affair

Wanty-Groupe Gobert will be among the 22 teams competing at the 2016 Critérium du Dauphiné in June, with the Belgian team being handed a wildcard to the Tour de France warm-up race.

The team, which was more notable for its performances in the one-day races in Northern Europe last year than its stage racing, join Bora-Argon 18 as the non-French invites to the June race.

Perennial invitees Cofidis return again for both Paris-Nice and the Dauphiné, while Direct Energie – formerly Europcar – are also invited to both races.

The invites for March’s Paris-Nice are an all-French affair, with Delko Marseille Provence KTM and Fortuneo-Vital Concept – formerly Bretagne-Séché Environnement – also asked to race.

The four wildcards for both races join the 18 WorldTour teams who are automatically invited. Team Sky riders won both Paris-Nice and the Dauphiné in 2015, with Richie Porte and Chris Froome taking the respective wins.

In 2016, Paris-Nice will take in the foothills of Mont Ventoux as the race heads south towards the Mediterranean coast.

Paris-Nice wildcards
Cofidis (Fra)
Delko Marseille Provence KTM (Fra)
Direct Energie (Fra)
Fortuneo-Vital Concept (Fra)

Criterium du Dauphine wildcards
Bora-Argon 18 (Ger)
Cofidis (Fra)
Direct Energie (Fra)
Wanty-Groupe Gobert (Bel)