British time trial round-up (Aug 6-7)

Overall leader Matt Bottrill saw his hopes of a fifth straight victory in the RTTC-Rudy Project Series dashed by an in-form Wouter Sybrandy in Saturday’s national round in Worcestershire.

Uxbridge-based Sybrandy (Sigma Sport-Specialized), who was making his first appearance in this year’s competition, had it nailed from the start as he completed his first lap of a 13-mile version of the Astley

circuit in 28-01 to lead his team-mate Russell Hampton by 26 seconds with Bottrill ( exactly a minute off the pace in third.

Sybrandy, 26, continued to pull away and passed the timekeeper in 56-58 for a decisive victory as Bottrill overhauled Hampton to take second spot by four seconds, 58-18 to 58-22.

Ian Dalton (Cherry Valley RT) also suffered his first defeat on actual time in the veterans competition, clocking 31-10 for one lap in third place as Rob Weare (Leamington C&AC) scored his maiden series victory in 30-45, 22 seconds up on Martin Smith (Primal Europe).

John Woodburn (VC Meudon) secured his fourth win on veterans target times whlie Sam Connolly (Glendene CC), 30-11, also completed a four-timer in the junior category.

Michelle King (Team Jewson-MI Racing) took the women’s honours in 32-32, well clear of nearest challenger Lynn Hamel (Herbalife-Wheelbase), 33-58, who retained second place in the overall standings.

Sybrandy teamed up with Jerone Wouters the following morning to win Farnham Road Club’s two-up 25 in an outstanding 48-59, putting them three minutes clear of their nearest rivals on the Bentley course, in Hampshire, while the VC St Raphael quartet of Simon Berogna, Jez Ponting, Simon Tout and Steve Walkling clocked 50-57 for victory in the accompanying four-up team event.

The battle for honours in the British Best All-Rounder competition stepped up with a number of personal and season’s best in the Burton District CA 50, led by Jeff Jones (Chippenham & District Wh) – fifth in last year’s final table – who covered the A50/6 Etwall to Blythe Bridge course in 1-39-03.

A wind-assisted return leg helped Scott Povey ( to second place in 1-40-08 with Derek Parkinson (Cleveleys RC) 31 seconds back in third and reigning BBAR Julian Jenkinson (Utag, 1-41-42, pushed into fourth. A personal best 1-54-09 saw Jane Kilmartin (Cult Racing) head the women’s field.

BBAR in 2008 and 2009, Nick Bowdler (Team Pedal clocked 1-43-07 in the Saturday evening event before winning Pennine CC’s 50 the following morning in 1-47-08, finishing over five minutes clear of second-placed Alastair Wareham (Team Swift), 1-52-47, in tougher conditions with a stiffening wind for the later starters on the Dishforth course in Yorkshire.

Steve Dennis (East Grinstead CC), 1-45-20, was an emphatic winner of Anerley BC’s 50 on the Broadbridge Heath course in Sussex, Rupert Burbidge (Redhill CC) finishing second in 1-50-00, while Alan Cook (Ross-on-Wye & District CC) came out on top at Abergavenny in Cardiff 100 Miles RCC’s 50 in 1-47-20 ahead of Tim Wood (Team Echelon-Rotor), 1-50-25.

West Country specialist Rob Pears (Bath CC) produced a winning 54-52 in Severn RC’s 25 at Stone, in Gloucestershire, to hold off Robin Coomber (Chippenham & District Wheelers) by just seven seconds.

Matt Sinclair (Lutterworth Cycle Centre) was the only rider inside 20 minutes on the Long Bennington course, in Lincolnshire, as he won Newark Castle CC’s 10 in 19-39, beating Will Corden (Lyme RC) into second place by 36 seconds.