Ben O'Connor gets revenge on stage 17 of the Giro d'Italia 2020

The Australian came so close on stage 16, but he wouldn't be denied on Madonna di Campiglio

(Image credit: Getty Images,)

Ben O'Connor took redemption on stage 17 of the Giro d'Italia 2020, winning from the breakaway after coming cruelly close the previous day.

The NTT Pro Cycling rider it made it into the day's breakaway again on the road from Bassano del Grappa to Madonna di Campiglio, attacking on the final climb 8km from the finish and never looking back.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alex Ballinger

Alex Ballinger is editor of BikeBiz magazine, the leading publication for the UK cycle industry, and is the former digital news editor for After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter, then as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output, and now as the editor of BikeBiz. Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) Alex covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers.  Away from the desk, Alex can be found racing time trials, riding BMX and mountain bikes, or exploring off-road on his gravel bike. He’s also an avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.