Søren Kragh Andersen puts in another sensational solo ride to win stage 19 of the Tour de France 2020

The Dane attacked with 16km to go from a breakaway group and held it to the line

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Søren Kragh Andersen (Sunweb) took his second stage win of the 2020 Tour de France after making another sensational solo effort to the finish for victory.

While on stage 14 he attacked with just over 3km to go, today the Dane attacked a breakaway group of 12 with 16km to go and quickly built a lead as no-one immediately responded.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Richard Windsor

Follow on Twitter: @richwindy

Richard is digital editor of Cycling Weekly. Joining the team in 2013, Richard became editor of the website in 2014 and coordinates site content and strategy, leading the news team in coverage of the world's biggest races and working with the tech editor to deliver comprehensive buying guides, reviews, and the latest product news.

An occasional racer, Richard spends most of his time preparing for long-distance touring rides these days, or getting out to the Surrey Hills on the weekend on his Specialized Tarmac SL6 (with an obligatory pub stop of course).