Wiggins, One Pro Cycling and Team Sky for 2016 Dubai Tour

Dubai Tour announces list of teams for its 2016 edition, with three British squads in attendance

Bradley Wiggins

Sir Bradley Wiggins will join his team-mates at the 2016 Dubai Tour in February, as Team Wiggins has been named on the roster of 16 squads taking part in the third edition of the event.

A total of 10 WorldTour teams, three Professional Continental, two Continental and one national team will take part in the UCI 2.HC-ranked four-day race, which runs from February 3 to 6.

For the first time three British teams will be present: Team Sky, Team Wiggins and One Pro Cycling. Brit sprint ace Mark Cavendish is also set to return to the event as defending champion with his new team, Dimension Data.

>>> It’s going to be strange to try and beat Cavendish, says Etixx-QuickStep sports director

"I’m really excited to be racing with my team at the 2016 Dubai Tour," said Wiggins. "It’s a really exciting event and we’re looking forward to competing with some of the best teams in the world".

Wiggins has said that he will ride in support of his team-mates, as he focuses on preparing for the team pursuit on the track at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio.

One Pro Cycling take part after they move up to Pro Continental status for 2016. The team owned by former England cricketer Matt Prior has made a raft of new signings and Dubai will be one of its first races against the top-flight squads.

Mark Cavendish wins stage four of the 2015 Dubai Tour

Mark Cavendish wins stage four of the 2015 Dubai Tour
(Image credit: Graham Watson)

Along with Sky and Dimension Data, the WorldTour teams taking part in the race are: Astana, BMC, Etixx-QuickStep, Lampre-Merida, Movistar, Giant-Alpecin, Tinkoff and Trek Factory Racing.

The 2016 route offers three flat stages and one with an uphill finish, just as it did in 2015. Stage three has a sting in its tail - a short, sharp ascent to the line. German John Degenkolb (Giant-Alpecin) powered to win the equivalent stage in 2015, with Cavendish reclaiming the race lead on the final day with the stage victory.

2016 Dubai Tour teams


BMC Racing

CCC Sprandi Polkowice

Dimension Data





Novo Nordisk

One Pro Cycling

Skydive Dubai

Team Sky

Team Wiggins


Trek Factory Racing

UAE National Selection

2016 Dubai Tour route


Dubai Tour 2016 route

Dubai Tour 2016 route

Stage one, February 3, Dubai International Marine Club to Fujairah, 179km

Stage two, February 4, Dubai International Marine Club to Palm Jumeirah (Atlantis), 188km

Stage three, February 5, Dubai International Marine Club to Hatta Dam, 172km

Stage four, February 6, Dubai International Marine Club to Burj Khalifa, 132km

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1