Julian Alaphilippe loses yellow jersey to Egan Bernal as stage 19 stopped early at Tour de France 2019

Chaotic scenes in the final 30km of the stage saw the race stopped prematurely, with riders furious about the interruption

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Julian Alaphilippe has lost the Tour de France yellow jersey as the race was neutralised in the final 30km as he tried to recapture his lead.

Unbelievable scenes unfolded as the general classification favourites crested the penultimate climb, the Col de l'Iseran, as Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck - Quick-Step) had been dropped by his rivals and was trying to chase back on.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alex Ballinger

Alex Ballinger is editor of BikeBiz magazine, the leading publication for the UK cycle industry, and is the former digital news editor for CyclingWeekly.com. After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter, then as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output, and now as the editor of BikeBiz. Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) Alex covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers.  Away from the desk, Alex can be found racing time trials, riding BMX and mountain bikes, or exploring off-road on his gravel bike. He’s also an avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.