Mark Cavendish wins Tour de France stage seven as Froome takes lead

Chris Froome awarded yellow jersey at the end of the stage after Tony Martin does not start due to injury

Mark Cavendish celebrates his stage win (Watson)

Mark Cavendish wins stage seven of the 2015 Tour de France

(Image credit: Watson)

After a week of frustration and near misses, Mark Cavendish (Etixx-QuickStep) took the victory on stage seven of the 2015 Tour de France in Fougères on Friday.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.