Tour de France 2014 teams announced

NetApp-Endura, Bretagne-Séché Environnement, Cofidis and IAM Cycling are the four teams that have been handed the wildcard places for the 2014 edition of the Tour de France, the race’s organiser Amaury Sport Organisaion confirmed on Tuesday.

The selection of Anglo-German team NetApp-Endura opens the way for more British riders to take part in the race when it starts in Yorkshire on July 5. British riders Scott Thwaites, Erick Rowsell and Jonathan McEvoy all ride for the team – although their nationality is no guarantee of a Tour start.

>> Struggling to get to the shops? Try 6 issues of Cycling Weekly magazine for just £6 delivered to your door <<

The four wildcards join the 18 WorldTour teams on the start list, which this year includes French team Europcar for the first time as they step up to the first division. Each squad will field nine riders in the race.

The 2014 Tour de France starts in Leeds on July 5 and finishes three weeks later in Paris on July 27.

ASO also announced that the Bretagne, Cofidis and IAM Cycling teams would take part in Paris-Nice (March 9-16), with IAM, Cofidis and NetApp lining up as wildcards in the Criterium du Dauphine (June 8-15).

2014 Tour de France teams

WorldTour teams
Ag2r La Mondiale (Fra)
Astana Pro Team (Kaz)
Belkin-Pro Cycling Team (Ned)
BMC Racing Team (USA)
Cannondale Pro Cycling (Ita) (Fra)
Garmin Sharp (USA)
Katusha Team (Rus)
Lampre-Merida (Ita)
Lotto Belisol (Bel)
Movistar Team (Spa)
Omega Pharma-QuickStep Cycling Team (Bel)
Orica-GreenEdge (Aus)
Team Europcar (Fra)
Team Giant-Shimano (Ned)
Team Sky (GBr)
Tinkoff Saxo (Den)
Trek Factory Racing (USA)

Wildcard teams
Bretagne-Séché Environnement (Fra)
Cofidis (Fra)
IAM Cycling (Sui)
Team Netapp – Endura (Ger)

Related links
2014 Tour de France route unveiled