Monday’s international news round-up

Italian Matteo Carrara (Vacansoleil) won the 2010 Tour de Luxembourg overall on Sunday.

Carrara took the overall lead after Friday’s second stage, where he placed second behind Frank Schleck (Saxo Bank) after the two riders embarked on a successful escape.

>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Gorka Izaguirre (Euskaltel-Euskadi) won the final, circuit-based stage in Luxembourg that had been shortened due to the inclement weather conditions.

2009 champion Schleck finished second overall, one second adrift of Carrara. Lance Armstrong (RadioShack) was third overall at 30 seconds.

Britain’s Ian Stannard (Team Sky) finished the race in 60th place.

Tour de Luxembourg 2010: Final overall classification
1. Matteo Carrara (Ita) Vacansoleil

2. Frank Schleck (Lux) Saxo Bank at 1sec
3. Lance Armstrong (USA) RadioShack at 30sec
4. Juan Antonio Flecha (Spa) Team Sky at 34sec
5. Serguei Ivanov (Rus) Katusha at 34sec
60. Ian Stannard (GB) Team Sky at 15-30


Armstrong heckled in Luxembourg
Lance Armstrong suffered at the hands of a heckler at the end of the final stage of the Tour de Luxembourg on Sunday.

Someone in the crowd near the RadioShack team bus shouted “liar, cheat” as Armstrong signed autographs. The seven-times Tour de France winner appeared to lose his cool and retorted “Why don’t you say that right to my face?”.

The man was subsequently removed from the crowd by police.

Full story: Armstrong heckled at first race back in Europe>>


Matt Goss continues winning streak in Philadelphia
Australia Matt Goss (HTC-Columbia) won the Philadelphia International Championship in the USA on Sunday, adding to his stage win at the Giro d’Italia in May.

Goss, normally a lead-out man for HTC sprinters Mark Cavendish and Andre Greipel, out-paced Tour of California stage winner Peter Sagan (Liquigas) to take the win in the one-day race. Alexander Kristoff (BMC Racing Team) came in third.

Britain’s only representative in the race, Tom Faiers (Footon-Servetto), did not finish.

Philadelphia International Championship 2010
1. Matt Goss (Aus) HTC-Columbia
2. Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Doimo
3. Alexandre Kristoff (Nor) BMC Racing Team
4. Alejandro Alberto (Arg) Jamis
5. Vidal Celis (Spa) Footon-Servetto at same time.


Athertons score gold and silver at mtb World Cup in Scotland
Gee Atherton (Commencal) won the men’s downhill World Cup round hosted by Fort William, Scotland

on Sunday.

Reigning world champion and home crowd favourite Steve Peat (Santa Cruz Syndicate) failed to make the podium, finishing in 18th spot.

Atherton’s sister, Rachel, came away with silver in the women’s downhill event. Atherton (Commencal) had qualified fastest, but was beaten on the day by French woman Sabrina Jonnier (Maxxis-Rocky Mountain). Britain’s Tracey Moseley (Trek) came fourth.


Related links
Contador clinches Dauphine opener
Cooke eighth in Spanish world cup round; Becker wins