MTN-Qhubeka reveals personalised A-Z rider jerseys

Tour de France wildcard MTN-Qhubeka have assigned each rider a letter of the alphabet, which they will sport on the back of their jerseys this year

Just a week after IAM Cycling announced the UCI had blocked its attempt to sport personalised jerseys in races this year, Tour de France wildcards MTN-Qhubeka released details of its own custom designs.

Each of the 26 riders in the squad has been assigned a letter of the alphabet which will appear on the back of their jersey, making it easier for viewers to spot their favourite rider.

The big names, such as Edvald Boasson Hagen and Tyler Farrar receive letters of their initials, but poor Matt Brammeier is stuck with the letter I and Natnael Berhane somehow ends up with the X.

South African youngster Songezo Jim will have reason for disappointment, however, with his letter Q. Not only does he not have a Q in his name, but the team’s original kit featured a Q on the back, so he doesn’t even get any new stash.

MTN-Qhubeka's alphabet of riders

A – Andreas Stauff

B – Theo Bos

C – Gerald Ciolek

D – Daniel Teklehaimont

E – Edvald Boasson Hagen

F – Tyler Farrar

G – Matt Goss

I – Matt Brammeier

J – Jacques Janse van Rensburg

K – Kristian Sbaragli

L – Louis Meintjes

M – Merhawi Kudus

N – Adrien Niyonshuti

P – Serge Pauwels

Q – Songezo Jim

R – Reinardt Janse van Rensburg

S – Steve Cummings

T – Jay Thomson

U – Nicolas Dougall

V – Jaco Venter

X – Natnael Berhane

Y – Youcef Reguigui

Z – Johann van Zyl

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1