Stuart O'Grady, Tour de France 2009, stage 17

Stuart O'Grady is the latest ex-Saxo Bank rider to officially jump ship to the Schleck brothers' new Luxembourg Pro Cycling team for 2011.

The Australian 2007 Paris-Roubaix winner has been strongly linked to the as-yet-unnamed team created by his former Saxo Bank team-mates Andy and Frank Schleck. On Monday afternoon, he confirmed the move.

O'Grady joins a host of big name riders lining up for the team in 2011, including the Schleck brothers themselves, Daniele Bennati, Jens Voigt, Linus Gerdemann and Wouter Weylandt.

It is thought that World TT champion Fabian Cancellara will also make the move from Saxo Bank to the Luxembourg team, although neither party will confirm this.

O'Grady's relationship with the Saxo Bank team and its owner Bjarne Riis publicly turned sour during the Vuelta a Espana, when the Aussie and Andy Schleck were sent home from the race by Riis after going out drinking into the small hours before stage 10.

O'Grady add to the squad's Classics line-up and undoubtedly provide support for Andy Schleck's bid to win the 2011 Tour de France.

Confirmed riders on team Luxembourg

Frank Schleck (from Saxo Bank)

Andy Schleck (Saxo Bank)

Davide Viganò (Sky)

Daniele Bennati (Liquigas-Doimo)

Giacomo Nizzolo (amateur)

Bruno Pi res (Barbot)

Jens Voigt (Saxo Bank)

Maxime Monfort (HTC-Columbia)

Wouter Weylandt (Quick Step)

Dominic Klemme (Saxo Bank)

Fabian Wegmann (Milram)

Linus Gerdemann (Milram)

Jakob Fuglsang (Saxo Bank)

Stuary O'Grady (Saxo Bank) 

Related links

Team Luxembourg edges closer to Cancellara announcement

Subscribe to Cycling Weekly: The perfect Christmas gift>> 

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1