Joanna Rowsell wins Commonwealth individual pursuit gold

England win second gold in the velodrome at Glasgow courtesy of Rowsell - Scotland's Neil Fachie and Craig MacLean claim the first ever men's para-sport kilo at the Games; the first cycling gold for the home nation - Jason Kenny takes his second silver of the Games in the sprint - Jack Bobridge leads Aussie one-two in individual pursuit

Joanna Rowsell this afternoon added the Commonwealth individual pursuit title to her world championships victory she took in Cali earlier in the year.

Rowsell (England) showed irresistible form as she recorded a 3-31.615 to see off Australian Annette Edmondson in the gold medal ride inside the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome in Glasgow.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

“It feels absolutely brilliant,” said Rowsell. “The individual pursuit is one of my favourite events; I won the world title in it in Cali at the worlds this year off the back of just team pursuit training, so it was nice to come here having trained specifically for it. As this event isn’t in the Olympics anymore, this feels like the Olympics.

“It was a bit cooler in the velodrome for the second ride, but the qualifying ride was over a second off my personal best that I set at the worlds in Cali, which is at semi-altitude. To get the Commonwealth record, too, is really special. “

Edmondson’s brother Alex took silver in the men’s equivalent discipline, with Jack compatriot Bobridge adding the victory to his team pursuit triumph 24 hours earlier. Welshman Owain Doull missed out on a medal, as he finished fourth.

“This morning, if you said I would qualify with a [four minutes] 21 [seconds] and finished fourth, I would have been over the moon,” said Doull.

“But to qualifying third, and set a personal best by four-and-a-half seconds, I got the confidence that I could finish third. It goes to show in cycling you can’t take anything for granted. I gave it everything, I just didn’t have it tonight.”

The noise levels inside the velodrome crescendoed when Neil Fachie and Craig MacLean won Scotland’s first cycling gold of these Games in the Para-sport 1km Time Trial.

Starting last, the duo clocked a 1-02.096 to beat Australia’s Keiran Modra and Jason Niblett by two-tenths.

Fachie is now the Olympic, Commonwealth and world champion in the discipline, and also holds the world record.

He said: “It’s pretty special. I feel like we’ve got a lot of support in here, and also from those watching on TV.  We couldn’t afford to not win it for this crowd. That ride was possibly the worst experience of our lives.

“We’ve stood on top of a podium many times, but to do it in Scotland for Scotland is something most athletes can only dream of. It was a nice moment.

“London [2012] was phenomenal, but I’d say the noise here was just as loud. I’m not sure we would have made it around on that last lap without them, we were hurting badly.”

Wales took bronze courtesy of Matthew Ellis and Ieuan Williams in the event.

Jason Kenny won his second silver of the Games in the men’s sprint. Kenny, who only progressed to the quarter finals via a repechage, rode well to progress to the final against Sam Webster.

However, the Kiwi beat him two-one to win his second gold of the Games after his success in yesterday’s team sprint.

Kenny said: “I am really happy to get a medal, to be honest. I really enjoyed today, it was a tough day, there wasn’t a lot of rest between rides, 10-15 minutes and then straight back up.

“It is a good step forward from the world championships. The qualifying was still rubbish and  scraping in as last qualifier is no good. I still need to sort that out.”

Commonwealth Games 2014, Glasgow: day two, afternoon session
Men’s sprint semi finals
Jason Kenny (Eng) beat Peter Lewis (Aus) 2-1
Sam Webster (Nzl) beat Ed Dawkins (Nzl) 2-0

Men’s sprint final
1. Sam Webster (Nzl) beat Jason Kenny (Eng) 2-1
3. Ed Dawkins (Nzl) beat Peter Lewis (Aus) 2-0
5. Matthew Glaetzer (Aus)

Men’s para-sport 1000m tandem time trial
1. Neil Fachie w/Craig MacLean (Sco) 1-02.096
2. Kieran Modra w/Jason Niblett (Aus) 1-02.244
3. Matthew Ellis w/Ieuan Williams (Wal) 1-04.095
4. Paul Kennedy w/Thomas Clarke (Aus) 1-05.261
5. James Brown w/Dave Readle (Nir) 1-09.413

Women’s individual pursuit final
1. Joanna Rowsell (Eng) 3-31.615
2. Annette Edmondson (Aus) 3-33.450
3. Amy Cure (Aus) 3-35.384
4. Katie Archibald (Sco) 3-37.078

Men’s individual pursuit final
1. Jack Bobridge (Aus) 4-19.650
2. Alex Edmondson (Aus) 4-24.620
3. Marc Ryan (Nzl) 4-23.559
4. Owain Doull (Wal) 4-25.664