Michał Kwiatkowksi wins first ever Grand Tour stage on Tour de France 2020 stage 18

The former world champion was gifted the victory by his team-mate Richard Carapaz

(Image credit: POOL/AFP via Getty Images)

Michał Kwiatkowski took his first ever Grand Tour stage win on stage 18 of the Tour de France 2020, after being gifted the victory by his team-mate Richard Carapaz.

After the abandonment of their team leader Egan Bernal earlier in the week Ineos Grenadiers were determined to take some consolation from the race, forcing four of their riders up the road in the day's 30-rider breakaway.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alex Ballinger

Alex Ballinger is editor of BikeBiz magazine, the leading publication for the UK cycle industry, and is the former digital news editor for CyclingWeekly.com. After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter, then as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output, and now as the editor of BikeBiz. Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) Alex covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers.  Away from the desk, Alex can be found racing time trials, riding BMX and mountain bikes, or exploring off-road on his gravel bike. He’s also an avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.