Grand Tour Doubles – Introduction

Grand Tour Double JerseyMake mine a double! It went out of fashion during the Lance Armstrong era but Alberto Contador’s Giro-Vuelta double has revived an exclusive tradition in which the great champions show the ultimate in drive, endurance and nerve.

It’s the ultimate stage racing achievement — winning two Grand Tours in the space of a single season. Before this year, only eight riders had managed it. When Alberto Contador crossed the Vuelta finishing line in Madrid, wearing the gold jersey of the race winner, he became the ninth.Grand Tour Double Winning Champions

>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

In fact it’s a decade since the last time anybody succeeded in winning a Grand Tour double, the longest gap since Fausto Coppi first managed to win the Giro and the Tour in 1949. This is partly down to the fact that the received wisdom during the Lance Armstrong era (well, the first one, between 1999 and 2005), was that winning two Grand Tours in a year was impossible.But with Contador’s Giro and Vuelta triumphs, doubles are back in fashion.

Fausto Coppi twice won the Giro and Tour in the same year, although the Italian never won a Vuelta. Jacques Anquetil also managed two doubles, a Vuelta and Tour in 1963, and a Giro-Tour double the following year.

Eddy Merckx was the only rider ever to have won four Grand Tour doubles, followed by Bernard Hinault, who got close with three. In 1981, unsung Italian Giovanni Battaglin took a rare Vuelta-Giro double, while Stephen Roche won the Giro and Tour in 1987. Miguel Indurain won two consecutive Giro-Tour doubles, and Marco Pantani was the last man to achieve this feat, in 1998. Here we look at all nine riders, identify the key stages of their wins, and include reports from the archives of our sister title, Cycling Weekly.

Recommended Reading
Grand Tour Doubles – Introduction
Grand Tour Doubles – Fausto Coppi
Grand Tour Doubles – Jacques Anquetil
Grand Tour Doubles – Eddy Merckx
Grand Tour Doubles – Bernard Hinault
Grand Tour Doubles – Giovanni Battaglin
Grand Tour Doubles – Stephen Roche
Grand Tour Doubles – Miguel Indurain
Grand Tour Doubles – Marco Pantani
Grand Tour Doubles – Alberto Contador