George Harper wins Tour Series hill-climb (photos)

Aberystwyth hosted round three of the 2015 Pearl Izumi Tour Series, with George Harper winning the hill climb and Ed Clancy the criterium. Photos by Andy Jones

George Harper gave One Pro Cycling a victory in the Tour Series hill climb, the opening part of the third round of the nationwide series in Aberystwyth on Friday, May 22.

Harper powered up the gruelling course around Constitution Hill to beat Jonathan McEvoy (NFTO) by just over two seconds, with Tom Stewart (Madison-Genesis) completing the podium in third.

One Pro Cycling also took the team award for the event, with the squad’s Jon Mould and Chris Opie placing sixth and 12th respectively.

>>> Tour Series changes rules for 2015 in a bid to boost racing

Ed Clancy (JLT Condor) won the evening criterium around Aberystwyth, with Stewart continuing his good day with second place and Mould placing third.

Madison Genesis topped the team table for the round, and also lead the overall standings after round three, just two points ahead of close rivals One Pro Cycling. Pedal Heaven are third.

Round four of the Tour Series will take place in Motherwell on Tuesday, May 26, with round five in Durham on Thursday, May 28. The 10-round series concludes in the Georgian city of Bath on Thursday, June 11.

Television highlights of the Aberystwyth round will be aired on ITV4 on Monday May 25 at 9pm, with a repeat at 8am on Tuesday May 26.

Tom Stewart, Tour Series Hill Climb 2015

Tom Stewart, Tour Series Hill Climb 2015

Pearl Izumi Tour Series 2015, round three: Aberystwyth hill climb
1. George Harper (One Pro Cycling) in 3-52.744
2. Jonathan McEvoy (NFTO) 3-54.436
3. Tom Stewart (Madison Genesis) 3-55.162
4. Stephen Williams (Pedal Heaven) 3-55.638
5. Richard Handley (JLT Condor presented by Mavic) 3-58.332

Pearl Izumi Tour Series 2015, round three: Aberystwyth criterium
1. Ed Clancy (JLT Condor presented by Mavic)
2. Tom Stewart (Madison Genesis)
3. Jon Mould (One Pro Cycling)

Pearl Izumi Tour Series standings after round three
1. Madison Genesis, 46pts
2. One Pro Cycling, 44pts
3. Pedal Heaven, 38pts
4. NFTO, 32pts
5. Team Raleigh – GAC, 32pts
6. SportGrub Kuota, 27pts
7. JLT Condor presented by Mavic, 21pts
8. Velosure Starley Primal, 19pts
9. Team Wiggins, 10pts

Pearl Izumi Tour Series rounds
Round one – Thursday May 14, Ryde, Isle of Wight (including Team Time Trial)
Round two – Tuesday May 19, Redditch
Round three – Friday May 22, Aberystwyth (including Hill Climb)
Round four – Tuesday May 26, Motherwell
Round five – Thursday May 28, Durham
Round six – Friday May 29, Barrow
Round seven – Tuesday June 2, Croydon
Round eight – Thursday June 4, Canary Wharf
Round nine – Tuesday June 9, Peterborough
Round ten – Thursday June 11, Bath

Upcoming events